Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

E120 MFD Power

Old 09-06-2009, 08:57 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E120 MFD Power

Almost saved enough lunch money for some electronics, unless the admiral finds it!!! I want to get the Raymarine DSM30 and RD424D wired into the E120 MFD. The data interface will be the SeaTalk switch. My question to the experts is: If I wire the DC power directly from the main source that the E120 is powered by; will the E120 turn the DSM30 and RD424D off or put them in standby when the E120 is not on? I don't want to have a heavy current draw when the E120 MFD is off, but don't want a seperate power switch for the DSM30 and/or the RD424D either. I realize I must fuse each module with the correct size fuse. BTW the E120 power is from a fuse box with multiple fuses for various things, this would be ideal for connecting the DSM30 and RD424D as there are spare slots available. Anyone know if the E120 can control these modules to effectively power them up when in use and shut them down when the the E120 is off.

Thanks
Old 09-06-2009, 01:19 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Waterford,CT
Posts: 905
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

You need to power all devices on their own, E-120 displays data from DSM & RD424D, it does not control any of the power functions. Best if you use your spare slots and add switches for control of the DSM & Radar.
Old 09-07-2009, 12:42 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,441
Likes: 0
Received 170 Likes on 122 Posts
Default

See the highly astute answer from Shake n Bake on boatfix.
Old 09-07-2009, 05:45 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Egg Harbor Twp NJ Usa
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Each unit should have a switch of its own. That makes it a whole lot easier.
Old 09-07-2009, 07:31 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,955
Likes: 0
Received 752 Likes on 602 Posts
Default

Wait until you can get the HD version of the radar, RD424HD, should be out in a couple of months time.

You can also expect some heavy rebates on E120 in the coming months as it's going to be replaced by the E-Series Wide.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.