Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Wellcraft Coastal 270 Stereo & microwave

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Wellcraft Coastal 270 Stereo & microwave

Old 08-31-2009, 12:40 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,833
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Wellcraft Coastal 270 Stereo & microwave

Two questions:

Just bought boat and the microwave doesn't work.
I suspect it is unplugged, as it looks unused.
How do I pull it out to check the wire/plug, whatever?

I bought a replacement Clarion CD player and need to pull the Clarion radio/cassette player.
How do I pull it out?

I do not see screws anywhere on the housing, nor any access points for either item.

Thanks!
Steve...
Old 08-31-2009, 12:57 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,601
Received 336 Likes on 210 Posts
Default

Look underneath the microwave my be screws there. If you have a CMD5 pull rubber boots off side screws are there
Old 08-31-2009, 01:00 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,601
Received 336 Likes on 210 Posts
Default

Oops sorry cas stereo you'll need lil tool to slide into either side of stereo to release the tabs holding it into its box. If your not worried about destroying it use a small standard scredriver.
Old 08-31-2009, 01:08 PM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

www.[yourbrandmicrowavehere].com then click Support, Manuals, and download the manual and see how it is mounted/dis-mounted.

www.clarion.com then click Support, Manuals, down the manual and see section titled installation, they show a picture of how their mount works.
Old 09-01-2009, 10:59 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Middletown N.J
Posts: 424
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Pull the trim ring off around the microwave and it should slide out. The outlet is behind the microwave. You should be able to see the back of the stereo when the microwave is out
Old 09-01-2009, 11:41 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,734
Likes: 0
Received 652 Likes on 358 Posts
Default

Just for kicks, check your fuse panel and Power Main breaker to ensure that both appliances are getting power. Is your inverter connected to the battery and is the power plug connected to the inverter?
Old 09-01-2009, 11:44 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve_250 View Post
Two questions:

Just bought boat and the microwave doesn't work.
I suspect it is unplugged, as it looks unused.
How do I pull it out to check the wire/plug, whatever?
You are aware that the microwave works on 120 volts AC, right?

This means you have to be connected to shore power or have an inverter or generator to power it.

Just checking.
Old 09-01-2009, 12:30 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plymouth Ma.
Posts: 8,094
Received 237 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Also, there could be a ground fault receptical in the circut somewhere causing your issue.
Old 09-01-2009, 04:02 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,833
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Yah, shore power, I know...
The 120 outlets all work.
There isn't trim 'round the micro.
All breakers are on, all else works.
The stereo works, although with a hum from the fridge, need to put a filter in.
I am putting in a new stereo, nixing the cassette for a CD/USB/iPod.
Speakers were shot too.
Old 09-01-2009, 05:11 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve_250 View Post
Yah, shore power, I know...
The 120 outlets all work.
There isn't trim 'round the micro.
All breakers are on, all else works.
The stereo works, although with a hum from the fridge, need to put a filter in.
I am putting in a new stereo, nixing the cassette for a CD/USB/iPod.
Speakers were shot too.
OK, look around to find out how to get the microwave loose. My guess is it's clamped in somehow or just blocks so it can't move. Once you get it out or loose, you can plug it into a working outlet to test it.
Old 09-01-2009, 07:54 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 890
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Steve:

Can you post a picture, that would help us see what you see. The outlet where the Microwave is plugged is splice into the Port outlet. you may have a bad splice connection also.

I have an '04 270 Coastal

Stewart at Wellcraft has been a big help to me however I do not know if he is still around.

Nick

Originally Posted by Steve_250 View Post
Yah, shore power, I know...
The 120 outlets all work.
There isn't trim 'round the micro.
All breakers are on, all else works.
The stereo works, although with a hum from the fridge, need to put a filter in.
I am putting in a new stereo, nixing the cassette for a CD/USB/iPod.
Speakers were shot too.
Old 09-02-2009, 04:52 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,833
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Yep, it's clamped or blocked, for sure.
This pic is from the survey report, and not a good one.
I'll get a better pic Monday when I get out there.
I don't know if the two round tabs at the bottom are actually caps holding screws, I just noticed them.
Didn't see them prior due to the amount of sweat stinging my eyes, LOL!
I may be able to pop them with the door open.

Last edited by Steve_250; 12-02-2009 at 08:13 AM.
Old 09-02-2009, 05:44 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,734
Likes: 0
Received 652 Likes on 358 Posts
Default

Good eye about those tabs. They look like plastic caps that fit over sheathed screws. Remove them and looks like a tray holding the micro will slide forward.
Old 09-02-2009, 09:27 AM
  #14  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Steve,
The bad news is, that microwave is probably just screwed in from below using the 4 rubber feet. IF (big if!) the white shelf under it comes out, you might be ok, but otherwise you basically have to break off the feet and/or the screws to get it out. Most manufac's just screw the damn micro in from below, and leave absolutely no access to it. The real trouble comes, not when you try and get it out (just break it out, it's when you try to get a new one in, there is no way of securing it.

I always wonder why nobody makes a "Marine" micro wich some kind of easily removable mount, like a car stereo trim box type thing. Or maybe they do, but they don't want to pay for it.
Old 09-02-2009, 10:36 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Middletown N.J
Posts: 424
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine boat is an 02 275 explorer , same boat. Mine has trim around it.The microwave lifts up alittle bit and the unit and bottom tray slides out. Ill check mine tonight again. i havent had it out in about 2 years.
Old 09-02-2009, 12:22 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,833
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Bird, the "shelf" is one piece, including the sink. I think they welded and super-glued it and then sealed it to the hull! I cannot get under the area unless I pull the fridge out, I'm not going that route.

Brian, sounds good, let me know what you find out.

Push come to shove, I'll yank it out and make a (much needed) cabinet for the space.
I have zero storage space in that area.
Heck, there's just the one cabinet on the other side and a tiny space under one seat, then a small space at the V.
I mean GEEZ! Where do they expect me to keep my shot glasses? LOL!

I appreciate all the continued help ya'll.....
Old 09-02-2009, 03:42 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 890
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

They probably pick up those house microwaves for cheap. The design is there, the boat manufactures probably do not want to pay.

My Refrigerator is held in by 4 screws. Before breaking the microwave out, it pays to remove the Fridge and have a look. YOu may be able to unscrew it from below.

BTW You may be surprised whats behind. ( I found a cork gun behind mine)

Bignick


Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
Steve,
The bad news is, that microwave is probably just screwed in from below using the 4 rubber feet. IF (big if!) the white shelf under it comes out, you might be ok, but otherwise you basically have to break off the feet and/or the screws to get it out. Most manufac's just screw the damn micro in from below, and leave absolutely no access to it. The real trouble comes, not when you try and get it out (just break it out, it's when you try to get a new one in, there is no way of securing it.

I always wonder why nobody makes a "Marine" micro wich some kind of easily removable mount, like a car stereo trim box type thing. Or maybe they do, but they don't want to pay for it.
Old 09-02-2009, 03:48 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,734
Likes: 0
Received 652 Likes on 358 Posts
Default

Agreed about removing the refrigerator and how easy it is to do. Chances are that the power to the refrigerator might be on the same circuit as the microwave, too.
If it is, you'll be able to test that outlet while the refrigerator is out.

If you put a cabinet where the fridge went, selling the refrigerator is pretty easy to do.
Old 09-02-2009, 03:58 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve_250 View Post
Bird, the "shelf" is one piece, including the sink. I think they welded and super-glued it and then sealed it to the hull! I cannot get under the area unless I pull the fridge out, I'm not going that route.

Brian, sounds good, let me know what you find out.

Push come to shove, I'll yank it out and make a (much needed) cabinet for the space.
I have zero storage space in that area.
Heck, there's just the one cabinet on the other side and a tiny space under one seat, then a small space at the V.
I mean GEEZ! Where do they expect me to keep my shot glasses? LOL!

I appreciate all the continued help ya'll.....
Advice: Use the boat for a while before you make any major or permanent modifications.
Old 09-03-2009, 05:04 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,833
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

bamaboy, I'm keeping the fridge, it's the inop micro that I may consider replacing, especially if it doesn't work when plugged in. It has it's own breaker.

Rwid, Yep, plan to use it before changes. Except, the micro can't be used as it is. Although, I could use it as storage, LOL!

Nick, where are the four hold-down screws on your fridge?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.