Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno 582 speed question?

Old 06-02-2004, 11:43 AM
  #1  
ccm
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: chatham, mass.
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno 582 speed question?

Installed a a new Furuno 582. Went with the transom mount triducer. Getting good results and not losing bottom at 35+kts. Cant get the speed to register over 0.0. I never had this problem with my last 582. Paddle wheel is spinning, temp is fine. Is there an adjustment for the speed on the unit or are these ducers prone to the speed not working. Dont need the speed guage for stripers but later it will be needed for bluefin. Any help would be appreciated.
ccm is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 12:07 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

There is an adjustment in the setup menu, the 2nd screen if I remember correctly, but that it does is allow you to adjust the indicated speed by some percentage, either up or down. If you have no reading at all there is nothing to adjust. The very first thing I would do is check the pins on the transducer cable connector for any sign of corrosion. For some reason I have it in my mind that its pin 8 that is used for speed data, but I'm not sure on that. Anyway that would be my very first place to check after making sure that the paddle wheel was free to spin with just the slightest flip of a finger.

Thom
Thom is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 12:21 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newburyport MA
Posts: 3,118
Received 34 Likes on 25 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

My guess is that for some wierd reason your paddle is not spinning when you are underway.

????????

I don't know how the paddle works.....on my thru hull it isn't connected electrically to anything.

Perhaps Airimar tech support or voyager marine electronics in Essex can help.

Harpoon is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 01:28 PM
  #4  
ccm
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: chatham, mass.
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

Paddle wheel is spinning. At my mooring (in a river) there is current flowing with the tides. Wheel moves at this slow speed. I will check the pins on the unit ant the receivers on the plug. Corrosion is not an issue yet.
ccm is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:23 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

I've seen the temperature sensors in them go out all the time but the paddle wheel is usually OK until the hole wears out, and then you just replace the wheel and little axle pin. There is no counter in a common sense. There is a magnet or piece of steel imbeded in the paddle wheel and when it passes by a coil or something that is imbedded in the transducer housing it counts a signal. There is some standard count per meter or whatever it is that all of the fish finder makers adhear to so the paddle wheel sensors are all interchangable as to signal. Anyway there is precious little in them to break so if the wheel is spinning I'd look at the connections. Other than that it would be a break internally somewhere and you'd have to buy one of those inserts - costs about $100 and comes with its own Y-cable to tie back into the transducer's cable.

Thom
Thom is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:43 PM
  #6  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 271
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

Just curious- why would you trust the paddle wheel speed when you can potentially just use the GPS SOG? Speed is critical for our fishing in the Great Lakes, and I only use the GPS speed. The only time to use the paddlewheel is to determine current at the surface? Just wondering??
JVLII is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 06:07 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

If you are pulling baits through the water for species which are very speed specific the SOG the GPS gives you is worthless. The only thing that counts is speed through the water. Use the paddle wheel while fishing and the GPS to get you out to the fishing and to bring you home.

Thom
Thom is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 08:00 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: S. FL then Erie Canal, NY, next NE FL
Posts: 1,770
Received 172 Likes on 124 Posts
Default make sure the speed setting is internal, not ext.

diver dave is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 10:11 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Down Under
Posts: 410
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

CCM

I've just checked my FCV-582L manual as I had a similar "problem" when installing my unit. You have to select the SPEED SOURCE in the SET UP MENU. In the set up menu you have a few options being OFF ; NMEA and OWN. You need to select OWN if you are using a paddle wheel. You'll find the setting in SYSTEM MENU 2 and you should be on your way with no probs at all. If you interface GPS then you can select the speed source as NMEA which will then display SOG. However I do agree with previous posts in that I use the GPS for my navigation and therefor SOG is important but my fishfinder is just that and therefor I find SPEED THROUGH WATER very useful.

Good luck & let us know how it goes.
Wildfish is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:24 AM
  #10  
ccm
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: chatham, mass.
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

I'll give that a try. Thanks for the help. Anyone who was a 582 and has visbility problems from sunlight should try the man & Machine process. It cost me $312 and made a huge difference with sunlight problems. i sent it on a monday and had it back on Sat. Great service.
ccm is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:29 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Walkertown NC USA
Posts: 424
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

I just tried mine out for the first time this weekend. I made the settings mentioned above and my speed readings and temp reading are right on, but I have an issue with the 582L losing bottom reading and not displaying the depth numbers at the lower left at RPM's above 38K. I sure would like to see it and it may have something to do with turbulence associated with my trim tab positions. I have a bracket on my CC and I need to submit a question to Furuno I guess. Other than that the unit is awesome!!!
SeaWitch is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 12:44 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: boca raton, fl, usa
Posts: 828
Received 58 Likes on 44 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

You can select the level that is used to determine the numerical depth reading. Can you see a distinct bottom when running that fast ? If so, you can select the "threshold" level to pick up the colors you see. I think you power on the unit pressing a key an dhten press alarm 3 times. This will bring up a special menu where you can set the threshold. THis is not part of the normal system settings, but I found it in the online user manual. Hope this helps.
heatzig is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 10:44 PM
  #13  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ortley,New Jersey 2670 Gl
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

ccm
Please explain about man and machine process????
RonG is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:38 AM
  #14  
ccm
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: chatham, mass.
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

Tried everything. Thanks for the suggestions. Seems like the speed function is broken on this ducer. I should have expected so much out of a $90 unit. Will have to replace at the next haulout.Hopefully Tuna are a month away. I only know a little about the Man and Machine process. I went on the website then called a fellow by the name of Lenny Merryman. He was helpful. They take the screen off and apply some protective polarization films. I think they may brighten the display mechanically some. Im sure he can tell you the exact process. It does not void the warranty and he said they are trying to work out a deal with furuno for future units. If you have a unit that is hard to read or in direct sunlight, this process is the way to go. It is much brighter and no problems with polarized sunglasses. My boat has no T-top so I'm in direct sun.
ccm is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 10:56 PM
  #15  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ortley,New Jersey 2670 Gl
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 582 speed question?

ccm
Sorry for the delay. Do you have the website for the man and machine process?
RonG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.