Notices

Raymarine L760

Old 04-02-2003, 05:31 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delray Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2
Default Raymarine L760

I recently took delivery of my new boat - an Aquasport 275 Explorer with a Raymarine L760 Chartplotter/Fishfinder. My previous boat had a Raymarine 520 chartplotter and a L750 Fishfinder. I purchased a new CMAP cartridge with the L760. The question is - has anyone else had problems with the zoom functions. On the 520 the chart would read at the 1/4 mile level. On the L760 it seems to "lose" chart data at 3 miles. I even tried my original cmap chart - same problem. Any suggestions?

hcesq is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 11:34 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Lure, NC,USA
Posts: 472
Default Raymarine L760

hcesq,

Yes, older units had a dead spot around 3 mi. Check Raymarine tech to see what software/hardware upgrade will fix yours.

Scout 202 SF Yamaha F200
Capt Ahab is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 07:11 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Raymarine L760

Sounds odd, must be software related. I have the RL70crc chartplotter/radar. I can zoom in and out, never loose data. Call tech support....

Good luck.

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 08:07 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 289
Default Raymarine L760

From c-Map: C-MAP electronic charts are composed of many individual paper charts at varying scale levels, some of which are overlapping. Not all areas will contain all levels of coverage

From RL manual: A single C-MAP chart normally provides as much information as is available in paper charts for that geographic area, and can be displayed down to a range of 1/64 nm on the screen if the data is available.

Problem is the C-map chip. The Raychart is capable of 1/64 mile if the map data is available. If you move the cursor to a port area and zoom-in best I've seen in my area is 1/4 mile. Offshore the best range is 3 sometimes 6 miles which really sucks. Shame-on Raymarine for depending on C-map to provide the level of detail. Lowrance Map CD provides 1/10 mile zoom most everywhere, really makes my RL map unit look like a POS Offshore when trolling in small areas, all due to C-Map.

[This message was edited by HookMan on 04-03-03 at 11:17 AM.]
HookMan is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 07:00 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delray Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2
Default Raymarine L760

I thought it might be my old CMAP chip - so I went and bought a new one with better coverage area. My old 520 worked well down to the 1/4 even at the dock behind my house. I am having the dealer do an update on the software first to see if that has any effect.

Thanks for the info.
hcesq is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 08:32 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: glen allen va. usa 2500
Posts: 257
Default Raymarine L760

I think it is the unit.I have both the 520 and 760(with all current software installed a month ago)and the 520 reads on a smaller scale.760 kicks out at 3 mi.

usual suspects is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 08:51 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Hanover, NJ, USA
Posts: 251
Default Raymarine L760

I had the same problem, went into setup and turned the plotter mode off.
Steelhant is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread