The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2009, 10:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North miami
Posts: 1
Default open array vs dome radar?

I am getting an electronics package on my 2009 Proline 32 express cruiser. Is there a big difference in the quality of picture between the open array and the dome radar. Cost is an issue.
Coolrunnings II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 05:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default

There is a big difference between the two. There have been a number of discussions here which go into more detail on the difference.

In a nutshell:

1. Open arrays have a smaller horizontal beamwidth. That means that targets close together can be discriminated as separate contacts as opposed to looking like one large blob.

2. Open arrays are larger, heavier, and require more power. If DC power is an issue for your boat, go with a dome.

There are a number of other differences, but in general, you will get better target resolution with an open array. Truthfully, the average weekend cruiser may never notice the difference. And for you, if cost is an issue, since open arrays run about twice as much as their equally powered dome counterparts, go with a dome.

Joe
marinerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 05:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Default

on a boat your size, if you are using the radar for collision avoidance and navigation (i.e. most of your work is going to be 6nm and closer) get a radome. If you are using the radar to find birds to help you fish or have significantly grander bluewater cruising aspirations than someone in a 32ft express cruiser should, spring for an open array.
SeaSwirler23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See screen name
Posts: 4,686
Default

Some good advice offered above. Keep in mind you are not going to get a lot of range on a low boat like that anyway. In the ranges you are likely going to use (I'd bet 2 -6 miles), a higher end dome will be a more practical choice, with virtually unnoticeable difference in target differentiation. Technically, yes the wider array yields better definition. Of course, the open array looks "badder", if that matters to you.

I have been thinking about adding a dome radar to complement my existing Furuno 1944 open array (which is mounted 23 feet in the air), using the dome for close range and the 1944 for longer range at the same time, given we are in open water a fair amount of the time. I can't justify the extra expense for another open array for shorter range use. But that is admittedly way down the wish list.

George
Hatteras 56MY
caltexflanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:15 AM   #5
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,714
Default

Get the Garmin HD radar. Best available today. I currently have the 24" HD Radom and it is really sweet. It compares to the old non-HD 3' arrays. You'll be happy.
Birdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
Get the Garmin HD radar. Best available today. I currently have the 24" HD Radom and it is really sweet. It compares to the old non-HD 3' arrays. You'll be happy.
Birdman, i have the GMR 24 non HD version ... bought it the year before HD was available. do you know if there is a substantial difference between the non HD and HD versions to justify me selling the older version and upgrading?
peterg45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brielle,NJ/Ft.Myers/Maryland
Posts: 220
Default

Im going to sell the raymarine twin screen and dome set up my boat just came with I will buy Furuno and get the Array I like the battleship look lol
CaptinMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 372
Default

The new garmin hd also allows to make dual radar displays simultaneosly the older garmin does show the dual display radar while in simulator mode so i suspect a software update would supply the dual results in those as well good luck getting garmin to do that update that is one of the sales points on the new units
capybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.