Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Wiring question

Old 05-21-2004, 07:40 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wiring question

I have to run new wires from the switch that is used to change which battery is in use, to the battery. What gauage should I use with these new wires. I recently had my boat fixed and the guy who fixed it told me that the wires i was using where not the right gauage and it could cause a fire. Thx
calorie2487 is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 07:52 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Wiring question

A clear description of where you have the switch, the batteries, and the distance of them from the engine will be needed.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 07:54 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Wiring question

The wire from teh switch to teh batter y is the only one i need to replace. I'd say it is about 2 feet maybe 3 at the most.
calorie2487 is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 08:28 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Wiring question

you will never go wrong installing too thick a cable....but you can go wrong trying to save a few bucks. What's the current wire guage?
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 08:34 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Wiring question

Im not sure what the current wire gauge is. So like a 4 or 6 gauge wire would be ok?
calorie2487 is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 09:24 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Wiring question

4 is better, it's bigger.

It really would serve you better to try and determine what the rest of the cable gauges are. You are only detailing one portion of the full circuit, and if that wire is too small then you have to wonder about the rest.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 09:47 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Wiring question

Pull out the old wire...somewhere on the outside of the cable it will tell you what the cable is...... either match that size or go to the next larger cable (lower numbers are larger cables..eg. a 4 guage is thicker than a 6 guage.)
Think Tweiss is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.