Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

northstar 958

Old 07-05-2009, 06:09 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default northstar 958

need help have a 952 hooked to my autopilot and works fine also hooked up a 958 made all the settings same in the 958 as the 952 but the 958 will not talk to the auto even took the coed from the 952 and put in the 958 and no good
Old 07-05-2009, 06:39 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location:
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

what pilot do you have? are you using a seperate Nmea input port on the pilot?

what wire colors are you using on the 958?
Old 07-06-2009, 03:04 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i have a roberson ap35 using rx1+ & rx1_ on the auto alone and the violet port1 output a & grey port 1output b on the 958 and the 952
Old 07-06-2009, 04:02 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location:
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

that is your problem. you can't have both the 958 and 952 sending data to the same port. you need to connect only one northstar to the pilot. or get a double pole double throw switch to select which unit you want to talk to the pilot.
Old 07-07-2009, 02:25 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i have a double pole switch in use
Old 07-07-2009, 09:31 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location:
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

get a multimeter and set it to DC voltage. test the Nmea output of both units. they should jump from 0-3 volts if the port is working correctly. i have seen northstar nmea ports blow out before, so it might just be a bad port. you should be able to use nmea output 2 if that is the case, (assuming that isnt blown as well) which would be yellow and orange, yellow being positive.
Old 07-09-2009, 03:10 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

no voltage on either port any idea who can fix it northstar says they don't repair them too old
Old 07-09-2009, 04:21 AM
  #8  
CMP
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: None of yer friggin' bidness, but since you asked nicely, S. NH, E. Orleans,Islamorada, Nashville
Posts: 10,931
Likes: 0
Received 66 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

I just had a second 958 go belly up on me-bad HF transmitter. These things great machines when they work well, but they are power hogs, super-sensitive to power droppage and if you don't feed them, they let go. That's my experience anyway. Done with these lemons...

CMP
Old 07-09-2009, 01:06 PM
  #9  
CMP
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: None of yer friggin' bidness, but since you asked nicely, S. NH, E. Orleans,Islamorada, Nashville
Posts: 10,931
Likes: 0
Received 66 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

To answer your more immediate question re:repairs, there's a guy in FL who seems to have cornered the market on parts for 900 series machines. Yeah, you'll pay for it. As far as I know, he only deals with dealers. You can try calling Northstar to find out who he is and contact info, but I had to go thru a local dealer...

CMP

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.