Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 4212 waypoint ?

Old 07-04-2009, 07:44 AM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elberta, AL
Posts: 1,840
Received 68 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Garmin 4212 waypoint ?

I need to remove some (a lot) waypoints from my 4212. I have saved them to a card. So how do I delete them from the 4212. I see how to do it one at a time, but that will take forever. Any body know how?
Old 07-04-2009, 02:27 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I don't know but did see some options "merge for card" and "replace from card". maybe you could "replace" and that would wipe them out. sorry - best I can do
Old 07-05-2009, 03:21 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 7,299
Received 1,460 Likes on 771 Posts
Default

Open in mapsource, click on the first waypoint to be deleted (list on left side of screen), depress the control key, move down the list left clicking the other waypoints to be deleted (while continuing depressing the control key). When all have been selected, hit the delete key, then save the changes. OR you can individually select a single waypoint and hit the delete key.
Old 07-05-2009, 03:27 AM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elberta, AL
Posts: 1,840
Received 68 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
Open in mapsource, click on the first waypoint to be deleted (list on left side of screen), depress the control key, move down the list left clicking the other waypoints to be deleted (while continuing depressing the control key). When all have been selected, hit the delete key, then save the changes. OR you can individually select a single waypoint and hit the delete key.
I need to get them off the 4212 not Mapsource. From what you are saying, I take it you are not putting the numbers in the memory of the 4212. You are Just working them from the card. How do I do that?
Old 07-05-2009, 05:27 AM
  #5  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manahawkin N.J.
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hiding waypoints

You could just "hide" them by symbol on the 4212 waypoint menu. If your waypoints have a common symbol they could be hidden as a group, not one at a time.

Hope this helps

Steve
Old 07-06-2009, 08:19 AM
  #6  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

1. Put in a blank SD card, and save all your data to the card.

2. Then go to Menu, Information, User Data,, Waypoints. Then Clear ALL. This will delete them all.

3. No start Mapsource on you PC, and load the data brom the SD card. Manage your waypoints as needed (delete, add, change.....).

4. Save the updated list of wp's from mapsource back onto the SD card.

5. Insert the SD card back into the 4212, and load the data into the 4212.

Enjoy.
Old 07-06-2009, 05:21 PM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elberta, AL
Posts: 1,840
Received 68 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

Thanks Birdman. That did what I needed to do.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.