Notices

VHF Radio Install

Old 04-23-2003, 07:26 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,062
Default VHF Radio Install

I have two questions.

1. I am trying to connect the GPS (Garmin 188c) to the radio (Icom 402) so I can use the DSC feature. The radio has what looks like a female headphone type connecter and the GPS had a skinny blue wire--how do I connect these? Can I get the proper connecters and wire at Radio Shack?

2. I need to extend the power (red and black) wires from the radio to the helm for power--what kind of wire is best for this?
amr72 is offline  
Old 04-23-2003, 08:43 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default VHF Radio Install

quote:Originally posted by amr72:
I have two questions.

1. I am trying to connect the GPS (Garmin 188c) to the radio (Icom 402) so I can use the DSC feature. The radio has what looks like a female headphone type connecter and the GPS had a skinny blue wire--how do I connect these? Can I get the proper connecters and wire at Radio Shack?

2. I need to extend the power (red and black) wires from the radio to the helm for power--what kind of wire is best for this?


1. The connector on the back of the Icom M402 gor connecting GPS is an RCA female. You will need an RCA male solder on connector from sh_t shack. They cost about $2. Connect the NMEA + wire to the center pin and either NMEA - or ground to the out side pin.

2. 14 or 16 gauge wire will be just fine. You should run them to a breaker or else add an Inlice fuse (which came with the radio). The preferred method is to cut off the ionline fuse and add a breaker.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-23-2003, 09:17 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default VHF Radio Install

The blue wire from the Garmin is your MNEA OUT (+), the black is the NMEA OUT (-). After you make the connections as Birdman described, don't forget to make sure you have your NMEA turned on so that it outputs the data to the ICOM. If you go into the menu and go to the "COMM" tab you will find it!

The Truth is that Saddam has SARS- Severe Acute Regime Shrinkage!
Big E is offline  
Old 04-23-2003, 01:50 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,062
Default VHF Radio Install

Thanks guys. I'm off to Radio Shack.
amr72 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread