Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

How do you tell if your transducer is broken

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

How do you tell if your transducer is broken

Old 06-01-2009, 06:56 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you tell if your transducer is broken

I have a Lowrance 337CDF with a dual frequency transducer, I went almost a year without using it and now the depthfinder works very weakly - It used to find the bottom at 600 to 1000 feet. Now, it is hard to find the bottom over 50 feet and over 100 feet it hardly ever finds the bottom. Also, oddly, the high frequency signal has greater depth than the lower frequency signal even though it's supposed to be the other way around (low freq. deeper range).

I am torn between just getting a new unit (even though this one is only 2 or 3 years old), and getting a new transducer to see if it helps. I hate to think about re-wiring a whole new unit.

Does anyone know how I can tell if the transducer has just gone bad? Are there any moving parts inside of one that would freeze up from non-use?
Old 06-02-2009, 03:54 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,732
Likes: 0
Received 652 Likes on 358 Posts
Default

I'm going to follow this thread closely because it's the same as what I've asked; how to determine whether it's the transducer or the guage?

So far, no responses other than, "...get another ducer or gauge and see what happens".

Check with your gauge or transducer manufacturer's tech dept. They might have a way to measure current with what you have.
Old 06-02-2009, 08:44 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fairhope, AL
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I replaced a DF transducer for my Eagle Seacharter (same as the lowrance) last year. It was not registering very often, and would just flash most of the time, especially when running. After I took it off, and inspected it closer, you could see hairline cracks in the end of the transducer, next to the temp sensor. I'm sure that something was getting wet that shouldn't. Replaced it, and that fixed my trouble.

You should also check the angle that the transducer is pointing. Could be something simple.
Old 06-07-2009, 12:49 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the suggestion - I did tweak the angle and moved it 4 inches toward center to see if that would help - no such luck. Moreover, the basic position is the same as before or within a couple inches.

Nobody seems to have much in the way of suggestions for this question.

Looks like Lowrance has a "phone a friend" program - they must hook you up with someone else who has the same unit so you can plug it into their system to see if it works there.

I guess I can take it into the shop if they have a demo program running on a display version to plug into to see if the unit registers on the test input. If not it must be the transducer - right?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.