Notices

2 transducers

Old 02-05-2003, 06:27 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 95
Default 2 transducers

Need help with with question about transducers. If I transom mount a garmin transducer 6 or 7 inches from my Lowrance transducer will there be any problem such as interference? Thanks.
cobia210 is offline  
Old 02-05-2003, 06:47 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 22
Default 2 transducers

I run two transducers mounted only inches apart with no problems but they are different frequencies. If both are the same frequency they will interfere with each other.
kence is offline  
Old 02-06-2003, 03:11 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default 2 transducers

In talking to the techs at FURUNO and GARMIN, there is no problem as long as only ONE machine is on at a time.

If BOTH are on, even at different frequencies, they DO affect each other. As it was explained, interference does not always appear on a screen. It can happen that one signal blankets another by not showing something that IS there as well as creating confused screen images.

The important thing is to make sure that the transducers are mounted in the "cleanest" water possible.

Proximity to each other should, ideally, be as far apart as possible. The angle of the cone is usaully sharp enough to prevent side by side interference. I have seen a number of boats with dual transducers that were about as close as you want to mount yours. They have not had problems.

"The oak tree, now mighty, was once the nut who held his ground."
Big E is offline  
Old 02-06-2003, 10:16 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default 2 transducers

If they are both 50/200 or single frequency 200 as is common, they will interfere with one another if operated at the same time, even if they are mounted 10 feet apart on your boat. The general rule (as recommended by Furuno) is that there must be at least 30 kHz frequency difference. I have a 50/200 and a 235 (just for shallow water depth) mounted 1 foot apart and they can both run at the same time with no interference at all.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 02-07-2003, 09:13 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL USA
Posts: 174
Default 2 transducers

I've got a similar situation. I've got a Lowrance GPS/bottom machine combo unit. I'm wanting to upgrade my bottom machine and am looking at the Furuno 600L. I was thinking that I'd just add the new transducer and would essentially have two bottom machines. However, from this thread, it sounds as if that would create a problem. Should I disconnect and remove the Lowrance transducer or is there another way around this situation?
Vitz is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 05:15 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location:
Posts: 16
Default 2 transducers

I have a Zircom transducer about 8" from a Lowrance. Once in a while I get just a bit of interference which shows as very small vertical lines. It hasn't been enough to be a problem.

My understanding is that Garmin and Lowrance won't interfer with each other.
Jig Man is offline  
Old 02-15-2003, 08:59 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default 2 transducers

Looking for some other info, I just came across this:

http://www.louisianasportsman.com/co...nics-07-02.htm



"The oak tree, now mighty, was once the nut who held his ground."
Big E is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread