Notices

radar/gps antenna placement

Old 11-26-2003, 03:58 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location:
Posts: 3
Default radar/gps antenna placement

i was told that your gps antenna had to be positioned above the location of your radar antenna. Is this true?
contender36 is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:10 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,383
Default radar/gps antenna placement

Look in your GPS manual. The usual requirement is three feet of seperation and out of the beam. So that means it could also be lower than the radar, especially if you have a "Scanstrut" or similar radar mount that elevates it.
ClassicGuy is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:51 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Edge...
Posts: 69
Default radar/gps antenna placement

My GPS antenna was originally installed in the same plane as the radar beam. Whenever I would turn on the radar I would lose GPS signal. Since I moved the GPS antenna up, I haven't had that problem...

One man in his life plays many parts. There is no armour against fate...
Bigtasty is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 02:43 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default radar/gps antenna placement

3" above or below is good enough.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 03:54 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default radar/gps antenna placement

Yep, just above or below the radar beam. Remember, the "radar beam" is the top half of your radome.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread