Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Furuno NavNet vx2 - Where do I stick this card?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno NavNet vx2 - Where do I stick this card?

Old 03-15-2009, 09:21 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno NavNet vx2 - Where do I stick this card?

I just bought a used 31' Jupiter with what I believe is a Furuno 1834C system which did not come with a chart card. I looked at the Furuno web site and determined that this unit should take a c-Map SD chart card. I ordered it and tried to stick it in the slot on the front and was surprised to find some sort of larger slot with a bunch of pins behind it, but no SD slot. Does anybody know what kind of card this slot is for? Do I need some sort of extra part?
Old 03-15-2009, 09:23 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bigger picture of slot (I think)

slot [img]http://i513.photobucket.com/albums/t...g?t=1237134122[/img]

[img]http://i513.photobucket.com/albums/t...g?t=1237134314[/img]

Last edited by markmontgo; 03-15-2009 at 09:28 AM.
Old 03-15-2009, 09:31 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I'm wondering if you got the wrong CARD type for your unit. The CMap ones Ive seen used were longer and skinny'er than an SD card....?
Old 03-15-2009, 09:34 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Marlin009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast FL
Posts: 15,376
Received 2,005 Likes on 1,019 Posts
Default

I have an 1834 VX2 and it definitely takes the SD card. That slot looks bigger. Mine has 'VX2' on the door, I don't see that on yours. Are you sure it's a VX2?
Old 03-15-2009, 10:14 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 196
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The Furuno 1834c does take a C-Map MAX chart on an SD card. However thinking it may be an incorrect model number as I just looked at the photos and the slot does look large. Or it's my special fishing glasses I'm wearing to improve the story size of my fish.

Last edited by Jim McQuade; 03-15-2009 at 10:17 AM. Reason: more info
Old 03-15-2009, 10:39 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dix hills ny
Posts: 4,034
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

thats got to be a vx1, i to have not 1 but 2 bought in different years and both say vx2 on the slot cover.
Old 03-15-2009, 10:57 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 780
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What card goes to the vx1? I got a 1723.
Old 03-15-2009, 11:13 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location:
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

it looks like the previous owner had the cmap version of his navnet converted to the navionics version and did not get a new chart card door. you need a navionics card.
Old 03-15-2009, 11:32 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dix hills ny
Posts: 4,034
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

idiot is 100% right, just looked, I have 1 of my 10.4" vx2's(cmap) on my lap, and a gp1650 (navionics) on my desk, and that tap that comes down from the top fit's the slot on the navionics card.
Old 03-15-2009, 02:24 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You guys are AWESOME! Now to just swap my c-map card for Navionics and I'm off.
Old 03-15-2009, 03:51 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Marlin009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast FL
Posts: 15,376
Received 2,005 Likes on 1,019 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by blackfinmike View Post
idiot is 100% right, just looked, I have 1 of my 10.4" vx2's(cmap) on my lap, and a gp1650 (navionics) on my desk, and that tap that comes down from the top fit's the slot on the navionics card.
Maybe I'm just not following you here. Are you referring to the 1650?

The door on mine says "NAVnet VX2 Navionics Gold SD". I am running the Cmap charts. As I recall it was just a matter of loading a different O/S to run the Cmap. The slot in the pic does not look like an SD slot. ;?
Old 03-15-2009, 04:51 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dix hills ny
Posts: 4,034
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

yes marlin, the card that fit's into the 1650 is double the thickness and has a ridge inset that matches that slot. looking at the paper that came out of the manual for the gp-1650d it say's navionics mini card. It's still not a vx2 and doesn't use the sd card and uses what is called an C-map-NT+, F Card for a navnet 1833c. Great point Markmontgo, still would have ordered the chip for a vx2 and it wouldn't have fit.

Last edited by blackfinmike; 03-15-2009 at 05:05 PM.
Old 03-15-2009, 08:29 PM
  #13  
edk
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 1,138
Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by markmontgo View Post
I just bought a used 31' Jupiter with what I believe is a Furuno 1834C system which did not come with a chart card. I looked at the Furuno web site and determined that this unit should take a c-Map SD chart card. I ordered it and tried to stick it in the slot on the front and was surprised to find some sort of larger slot with a bunch of pins behind it, but no SD slot. Does anybody know what kind of card this slot is for? Do I need some sort of extra part?
That's a Navnet 1 - they don't take SD cards. You need the Furuno C-Map chart cards for that unit.

Ed
Old 03-16-2009, 05:50 AM
  #14  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OK, I realize my mistake now. I identified the unit by going on Furuno's site and looking at pictures. The VX1 looks just like the VX2, but the VX1 is buried down in the "previous products" portion of their web site, which is why I missed it. I guess this means I can't use those great new chips with the aerial photos and all that. Now I just need to figure out where I can get one of those old-style chips. Thanks for all of your help guys.
By the way, is this a really good excuse to upgrade the electronics? I'd really like a 6KW open array radar for birds. Are the new chart plotters enough of an improvement that they warrant the cost of replacing the whole system?
Old 03-16-2009, 02:22 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dix hills ny
Posts: 4,034
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

They aren't old stile chip's, I haven't checked lately but last year they were still being bought as new on the gp1650, BOE on this site should be able to help you, if not www.ultimatepassage.com, look on the side menu to the left, scroll down click c-map charts, to the right c-map nt+ chart card's, I don't know what your talking of as far as an arial shot, vx2 is not 3d, vx2 3d is 3d. the good thing is your chart is about $180 not $350.
Old 03-16-2009, 03:57 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Marlin009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast FL
Posts: 15,376
Received 2,005 Likes on 1,019 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by markmontgo View Post
OK, I realize my mistake now. I identified the unit by going on Furuno's site and looking at pictures. The VX1 looks just like the VX2, but the VX1 is buried down in the "previous products" portion of their web site, which is why I missed it. I guess this means I can't use those great new chips with the aerial photos and all that. Now I just need to figure out where I can get one of those old-style chips. Thanks for all of your help guys.
By the way, is this a really good excuse to upgrade the electronics? I'd really like a 6KW open array radar for birds. Are the new chart plotters enough of an improvement that they warrant the cost of replacing the whole system?
How good an excuse do you really need?

I have the 4KW dome and have had good success finding birds out 3 to 4 miles under ideal conditions. It was on 6M range and I wasn't looking further out. The open array will be more effective. How much, I don't know. For a couple hundred bucks it might be worth getting the card for this one and see how it works for you.

I had to get the heading sensor to use the overlay function (radar with chart) on mine, not sure if its an option on the VX1, but it is worth the $600 investment, IMO.
Old 03-17-2009, 12:57 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks all.
Marlin, I'll look into the heading sensor, although I haven't had a chance to really play with this thing yet. I also noticed that you have your radome mounted on an elevated mount. Mine is bolted directly to the T-top. Do you think it is worth it to move it up? I realize it will then get the outrigger mounts out of the way of the beam, but other than that, does it help enough to justify remounting it?
Old 03-17-2009, 02:04 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Marlin009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast FL
Posts: 15,376
Received 2,005 Likes on 1,019 Posts
Default

I needed to get over my two GPS antenna's and the spotlight. The higher the better but I'm not sure how much you'll gain by moving it up 8 or 10 inches. I think my mount is 8".

This is the website where I got mine. I went with the basic 8" mount. It is very well made at a good price.



http://yachtspecialties.com/standardrisers.html

Last edited by Marlin009; 03-17-2009 at 05:14 PM.
Old 03-18-2009, 11:03 AM
  #19  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Marlin I'll look into that when I get the chance.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.