Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NMEA Connection Wire

Old 04-22-2004, 02:16 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nantucket, Ma
Posts: 214
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NMEA Connection Wire

Anyone know if a NMEA wire carrying compass heading info from an autopilot to a remote display has to be shielded wire ?
Eric S is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 02:55 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NMEA Connection Wire

If it is truly NMEA structured words/sentences, you probably do not have to shield. However, it would be safer to use shielded wire, but only ground the shield on the originate end to avoid ground loops.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:08 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: NMEA Connection Wire

The technical answer is that you should always use shielded wire for any data connection.

The practical answer is that I know of absolutely no one who worries about using shielded wire for NMEA connections including the manufacturers who provide pigtails from their units that are not shielded.
Think Tweiss is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.