Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Global Map 5000c

Old 04-20-2004, 02:11 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 133
Default Lowrance Global Map 5000c

I just bought the Lowrance GPS, had it flush mounted in my new HS 2800 wa, placed the Navonics Gold in the machine and got nothing!!!
The machine doesn't recognize the chip. We took the chip and placed it in my friends machine (same) and the chip works great. Now I know it's the machine.
Lowrance says I might have an old version of hardware on the GPS (I just purchased it in February) or I might have to send the unit back.
I can't believe they don't test these things before sending them out. It's not like we're buying a pack of chewing gum or something. So if I do have to send it back, I first have to rip it out of the new boat.

Anyone with any ideas as to what else it could be before I start ripping???
alstimeg is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 06:05 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tampa FL US
Posts: 582
Default RE: Lowrance Global Map 5000c

Do a reset on the machine.
Dave M is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 06:19 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pa. - 20 Crestliner
Posts: 1,772
Default RE: Lowrance Global Map 5000c

I read on another thread that you have to power the antenna also........Just checking to make sure you did.....
Shorty is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 05:47 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: West Islip,NY,11795
Posts: 197
Default RE: Lowrance Global Map 5000c

You have to select that map in setup otherwise it will use the built in map
SRE372 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 05:22 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sandwich, MA
Posts: 20
Default RE: Lowrance Global Map 5000c

You will need to download the software update for the unit from the lowrance website http://www.lowrance.com/software/Upg...50/Default.asp . The newest version is 1.5.0. This will fix the read problem.

In Lowrances defense, the Gold was just released last year. The 5000 needed the software upgrade to make it read the new Gold charts. All of the new units have the most current version. Chances are, the unit you purchased was manufactured before the Gold release, so it has the older software. No difference in units, it just needs the software to get it going.

Jeff@navionics
Jeff@Navionics is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.