Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Old 04-17-2004, 03:39 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 120
Default Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Anyone have one of Raymarine's standalone digital FFs up and runnning? If so, what do you think?
jwas1 is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 08:35 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

I am waiting too on DS500x/600x
bigblue is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 07:49 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bradenton, Fl
Posts: 317
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

I've been using the 600 for over a month now and believe it to be a sound purchase. Colors are bright (I have no t-top...works great), can be seen thru polarized glasses and you can truly turn it on and forget about making adjustments...i does it all for you.

Jeff
ProMaster is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 06:55 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Thanks promaster, they seem a great unit!
bigblue is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 07:26 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Deerfield Beach, Florida
Posts: 994
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Does the "digital" intelligence provide any real advantage over standard finders? I am thinking about getting one. However, my current unit works fine but I am thinking about going all Raymarine..
FishEye is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 03:56 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hillsborough NC / St Augustine FL
Posts: 411
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Dont know yet if the digital is better or not. Only had mine in about 2 weeks and have not been able to get off shore yet.

However, in the river to depths of about 70 feet at 50 mphs thing look clear and bright.

I would buy again without a doubt.
astm216 is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 04:41 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Had mine out yesterday. I like the lack of surface clutter and it worked as shallow as 3.1 feet.
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 07:52 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default RE: Raymarine DS 500 or DS 600 up and running?

Thanks guys for your "owners thoughts" on the units!
bigblue is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.