Notices

Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Old 01-14-2003, 01:01 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

This is the second time the 2006c is on it's way back to garmin, but this time the gsd20 is going with it. Although the combination has worked perfectly in shallow waters (less than 10 feet) for the past 3 months, it shut down in 150 feet of water again, almost exactly where the shut-down occurred the first time in October. Last Saturday was the first trip offshore since October.
The original problem was a "corrupted software fix and upgrade to version 4.04" per Garmin.
When the 2006c goes down, it really goes down. Repeated restarts, shutting off/on the 12volts and disconnecting/reconnecting the 2006c cable, all for nought. The only fix that worked was disconnecting the cable from the 2006c to the gsd20. The 2006c came on and worked fine but depth sounder function obviously gone.
Upon return to dock, re-connected the gsd20 cable and everything worked fine. Left unit on for a couple of hours and it worked flawlessly.

Garmin rep had no sensible explanation for the problem, that's why both units are on the way back. ANYBODY OUT THERE HAVE A SIMILAR PROBLEM??
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 01-20-2003, 03:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Garmin acknowledged that they still have a software problem with these 2 units. To quote Garmin:
"This problem generally occurs when the Fish Symbols are on and there is a drastic depth change. Shutting the Fish Symbols off may solve the problem until the update is available"

I would suggest that anyone who has the 2006C/gsd20 keep in touch with Garmin and/or their Web Site for the posting of the software fix.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 01-21-2003, 07:40 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Posts: 21,829
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

A buddy of mine is having a similiar problem with the 2010C. Gps started acting up then the depth finder went goofy in about 90 feet of water. Garmin said software also. We shall see.
Cracker is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 08:19 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,216
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Other than the shutting down, how do you like the sounder? Does it reach a decent depth? I would like to be able to see some humps in 1500' of water. How is the redraw time on the plotter? Im looking to upgrade my simrad ce40 because it isnt sunlight viewable and the chart redraw time is very slow. I would like to stick with an all-in-one unit so that I dont have to do serious modifications to the console. Ive heard that the furunos have a slow redraw time, so Im exploring other options in the <$3000 (for everything, including transducer) category.

Thanks!


pig dog toad
Cooper is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 08:42 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Posts: 21,829
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

From what I have observed and during my operation of the 2010C on my buddies boat the processor is very fast.. Up here in N. Florida we sledom go in anything over 200' so we use 200 mhz but it responds quickly and does a great job....... The large screen is great piking up details... The last time we went out we were in 100' of water and when we passed over a spot that was marking big fish I called it out and both of our rods doubled over. Result two 40 plus inch Redfish that got returned to the water..It is very good at reading the bottom
Cracker is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 10:19 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

I have had only a couple of off-shore trips in deep water when the 2006c/gsd20 did not shut down. I guess I did not have the fish icons on for those trips. Anyway, the max depth on those occassions was about 1000 feet, and using 200khz only, I was able to pickup a pretty good bottom return, at least good enough to show clear bottom peaks and valleys. I cannot say how the unit will respond at 1500 feet and 50khz. Speed at the time was 6 to 8 knots and the seas were moderate.
I am pretty impressed with the re-gen capability of the unit, and that is with all of the Bluechart stuff on. However, I have no idea how it compares with similar units from other manufacturers.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 02:51 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,216
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Thanks for the feedback. As long as it can see any sort of bottom in that depth, then that's all I need. Gotta be able to see the swordfish humps

I saw it in action today at boatus, and it's literally 10 times faster redrawing than my simrad. And that's with all the options on the garmin and with none of the options on the simrad.

Im going to buy one of these things.


pig dog toad
Cooper is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 07:49 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 1,599
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

I was planning to purchase the 2010 & GDS 20 next weekend. Can you guys speak up so I do not make a bad decision.

Is the software problem fixed. Saw a software download on Garmins web page.

Is anyone having GOOD LUCK with these combo's, GDS 20 & 2006-2010.
Major Woods is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 08:16 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Posts: 21,829
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Major Woods, My buddy just sent his unit back..nothing new to report, but that 2010C unit is nothing short of WOW! I have been truely impressed with it and Garmin will get the bug out of it...
Cracker is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 08:21 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,216
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

sounds like if you dont use fish symbols then you're good to go.


pig dog toad
Cooper is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 08:51 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

The units works great,except for the problem mentioned.For the diference in price between the 2006 & 2010 the lager screen on the 2010 is the way to go. The glitch appears to be software related-when the fish symbols are on and the bottom depth is changing fast and a depth scale change is needed to redraw the whole screen it does not know what to do,and it shuts down.It sounds/appears like a software glitch to me. My only concerns are my buddy has a 182C(no sounder) and it seams to redraw the screens faster than the 2010. Is the main processor faster in the newer units? Therefore the problem in the 2010 might be an overhead problem in command execution,and it processor speed is the problem and it does not have enough to work with all the bells and whistels on??? I can't say. Now if the question is i am not in a bind i have some units that work,i am looking for new gear-would i wait-YES!!! The next redesign 2010 is got to have a faster processor/engine than the present unit .
tuna1 is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 09:02 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,216
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

tuna1,

Do you know when the new design is going to come out? I can wait a couple months (my wallet would thank me if I waitied). Where did you hear the info, if you dont mind me asking?

thanks!


pig dog toad
Cooper is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 09:26 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Major, sir, I would not let the current problem with the "fish icons and deep water" hold up the purchase of either the 2006 or 2010. Garmin is fixing the problem and will probably have the software corrected shortly. I only received my units back from Garmin on Monday and will be putting them back this weekend. However, it does not look like I will be out testing in deep water since there are currently 14 foot seas in the gulf stream.

Tuna1, the redraw times for the 2010/2006 and 182C are not just a function of the processor. The screen resolution on the 182C is not even close to the 2010/2006. The 182c pixels (234x320) and 16 colors compared to (640x480) with 256 colors for the 2010/2006. That is the reason for the slower re-draw times for the latter. I happen to have both the 182c and the 2006/gsd20 and believe me the resolution differences are very obvious. You cannot get a straight line on the 182c when you are zoomed-in. Personally, I am willing to give up a little redraw time for that clean, crisp 2006 display. I am not knocking the 182c. It is my backup and serves that function very well.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 09:38 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Heard from a dealer-Boater'sWorld.Time table-don't know.Being it's a all sealed unit-can't tell what the processor is that's in there. I would sit on my hands and wait. $3000 for a black box is steep-but dam it's a nice unit,and nothing else close.There was a brand new 2010/GSD20 unit on Ebay9(from Boston area)end of last year that did sell,maybe it will reappear??( think he wanted $2400)
tuna1 is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 10:01 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Dealer said processor in 182c is newer/faster than whats in 2010.Have you tried the GSD20 on the 182c,the update is on garmin's site.Reflashed my buddy's and all the stuff is there on his unit for the sounder connect.I have not transfer my GSD on his boat to try.Could you try and get back the results here???
tuna1 is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 10:40 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

I will give it shot. The 182c with the gsd20 is a recent addition. Will check the Garmin site for an update. The gsd20 shows the connections for 2 2006's so if you can substitute the second 2006 for a 182, that should be easy. Also, a new load of the 182 software update. I will keep you posted.

Just checked Garmin site and the latest software release 4.03 of Sept 12, 2002, does not really indicate that the gsd20 interface modules are included. Also checked my local supplier and although they have heard it is coming, it has not been formally released.

[This message was edited by Gil Morgan on 01-24-03 at 02:33 PM.]
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 11:48 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Updated the 2006C with software release 5.0 and tested the units in deep water this weekend. The 2006C/gsd20 combination performed perfectly with and without the Fish Icons to a depth of 700 feet.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 02:49 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

GIL- Thanks for that great news!

Just got off the phone to place my order for a GSD 20. That's what I was waiting on!



"The oak tree, now mighty, was once the nut who held his ground."
Big E is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 03:14 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

Just purchased a 2010 mono last weekend at the boatshow. Just waiting for spring.
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 08:17 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: PEMBROKE PINES, FL, USA
Posts: 115
Default Garmin 2006c/gsd20 shutdown

I currently own a 2006C I used to have a Raymarine
chartplotter with dgps antenna installed I used to recall that when I was in the intracoastal waterway in miami and the marker was to my right it was very accurate in terms of visual location compared to raytheon chart. I don't know what I am doing wrong but my 2006c is not as accurate any info guys.
TUNAPUNA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread