Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Notices

Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Old 12-20-2002, 08:30 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Hanover, NJ, USA
Posts: 251
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Hello, have a problem when I start my engine, electronics shut down from voltage drop. Batteries are fine and wire size is more than I need. Everything seems to check out. Read something on this product that it maintains voltage when you start. Anyone have any experience with this unit.

Happy Holidays [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img],
Chuck
Steelhant is offline  
Old 12-20-2002, 09:57 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberPLEDGERCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Uxbridge, ma
Posts: 925
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

yep, it works but it's a pain in the arse to wire up because you need to find a place where it goes dead while cranking. It uses a diode and a relay to switch power between the 2 sides....not the best way to do it. What do you have wired and where to? It could be you have too small of wires to run everything and your voltage drop is too much to keep the processors running....


www.saltybugger.com

My wife keeps saying I never listen to her...or something like that.
saltybugger is offline  
Old 12-20-2002, 08:33 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 360
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Saltybugger,

What do you mean by "you need to find a place where it goes dead while cranking". I plan on installing one of these this winter and would like to hear about your experience.

Thanks
Kevin
Mad Hunt is offline  
Old 12-21-2002, 03:42 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,510
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

I've got the same problem myself. Even with fresh marine cranking batteries, my GPS reboots if I crank the engine with the battery switch on one battery. If I start with batteries combined (switch on "both"), no problem. I've upped the cable size, etc, but the problem seems to be the tremendous amp draw of the starter on my I/O. It's a Ford engine, and their shunt style starters tend to suck a lot of juice when energized. Normally, the electronics in my dash get 13.1 Volts with the engine off and everything on. When I crank the motor on one battery, the voltage dips to about 9.8 VDC. When I crank the motor with both batteries, the voltage dips to 11.7 volts.

My workaround for now is to just leave the motor running once the boat gets wet, and shut it off when the boat's back on the trailer. Heck, it's an I/O and I rarely bottom fish, so that's not a problem during trolling season.

I do want to do some drift and bottom fishing if the weather calms down over the holidays, so I may cobble up my own little startguard.

Since the electronics don't draw too much power (a couple amps, max), I may fit a small 12VDC wet cell battery and mounting bracket behind the lower helm, along with some diodes to let it recharge when running, but not discharge when the engine is off.

Comments? Is there a better way (besides buying the startguard)? I don't like to run with battery selector switch on "both". I prefer to alternate to exercise the battery and keep reserve.
tidester is offline  
Old 12-21-2002, 05:25 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Interesting thread. I'd almost bet that the problem would go away if you'd run a #6 power wire up to your breaker panel and a #6 ground wire back to the battery, and then check ever single connector and wire to each device, including the battery cables, for corrosion and fix the problems you find. I'd also be taking a close look a the size and type of the batterys as well as who made them. One thing I would not do is flip that battery switch to the both position for starting. As an alternative to that I'd be starting the engine first (on one battery) and then fireing up the electronics after it was up and running.

If your batterys are large enough (amp/hour capacity) there should not be a big voltage drop from starting. That's one thing, the next thing is that oversized power supply wires will make sure that almost all of the power that is available at the battery makes it to the distribution panel (and back - don't forget that ground wire). The third thing is that more often than not power drop in a boat can likely be traced to corrosion somewhere in the system. Anyone know where to find brass-bristle wire brushes about the size of a toothbrush?

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 12-21-2002, 11:13 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Hanover, NJ, USA
Posts: 251
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Thanks for all your reponses.
The batteries are 6 month old Interestate deep cycle model 29. I have checked all connections and they seem real sound. I will first try #6. wire, I presently have #10. If that doesn't work then I will try the small 12 volt battery with diode idea.

Thanks Again,
Happy Holidays,
Chuck [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]
Steelhant is offline  
Old 12-21-2002, 12:35 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Hanover, NJ, USA
Posts: 251
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

"I'd almost bet that the problem would go away if you'd run a #6 power wire up to your breaker panel and a #6 ground wire back to the battery"

Well Thom and Saltybugger your 100% right.
I have my boat in a barn and figured what's better than dealing with holidays shoppers, back in the boat and change wireing from #10 to #6. I happen to have the wire on hand. Well everything is working perfect. I even cranked a few times without starting to lower voltage. "Done deal"

Thanks Again,
Chuck [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]
Steelhant is offline  
Old 12-23-2002, 03:35 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberPLEDGERCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Uxbridge, ma
Posts: 925
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

[img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Just saw the post again, great! Glad to hear you got it squared away!


www.saltybugger.com

My wife keeps saying I never listen to her...or something like that.
saltybugger is offline  
Old 12-23-2002, 05:51 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Hot Dam! I just love it when we accidentally get one right .... batting .328 for the week on right answers [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Have a nice Christmas, as I go out to my boat to run new #6 wires forward ......

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 12-23-2002, 04:25 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,510
Default Startguard DC Power Conditioner ( Newmar)

Looks like I'm on my way to get some heavier gauge ground wire too! I'm running 8 Ga, but you can't have too good a ground!

Thanks for the tip, Thom! [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]
tidester is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread