Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Old 04-12-2004, 06:01 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Middleburg, fl, clay
Posts: 22
Default raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Installed rl70crc+ chartplotter, seatalk was gps, dms250 finder with transom mount trans. Wanted to keep everything raymarine, went to the local dealer was told raymarine would't work with my motors. I have twin 225 four stroke yamahas. He recomended ap11 by simrad, i'm sure simrad is great but raymarine not working with my motors, does this make since? ;?
RichieII is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 06:50 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,841
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Nope. It doesn't. About the only issue I've heard is that the standard linear feedback (rudder sensor) unit has interference problems with some of the bigger yammies. In that case you could do what birdman did and install a different sensor.

The ray gear is designed for both hydraulic and manual steering, single and twin engines. In fact, it uses the same linear sensor that the simrad unit uses for outboards so it's doubly confusing.

I'm sure you will soon be hearing about a wonderful new unit that doesn't use any feedback sensor, and will even floss for you though.......
gerg is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 08:05 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Middleburg, fl, clay
Posts: 22
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Thanks Greg, thought it seemed strange raymarine not working with yamahas.
RichieII is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 09:17 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 408
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

my st6001+ works great on my F225's. I have last years version the type 400G core pack and the type 2 Hyd pump. I used the Teleflex RRU but when it fails again I will switch to the rotary unit. If you need a hole saw, talk to birdman!
ave8er is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:14 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Posts: 115
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

I wouldn't touch the ray ap with a ten foot pole personally. i've got all ray equip on my boat, bought the ap 2 months ago and still do not have a funtional system. i've tried everything, their linear, every bracket suggested by tropica marine...nothing works with HC5345 cylinder in a confirned well space. i've spent over 1000 on the system and all raymarine has to say is "sorry, it works on most of the boats out there". and "oh, maybe you should try cutting holes in your splash well to make it fit".......yeah, the ray tech actually said that this past friday when i made one last (of many) calls!!!!..........Buy Furuno!! that's the system i'm getting on the next boat!!

Good Luck with the ray system............you'll need it!!

Reel Escape is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:27 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 1,946
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

TR-1, no rudder feedback unit, problem solved.
Sandpiper John is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:37 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Man that sucks Reel.

The ray AP bolted right on to my twin o/b's and it didnt present any trouble for others on this forum.

To be honest that wierd looking bracket sent with the AP is for yamahas I think.

Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:45 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,293
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

With your engines in neutral and the pilot display on a rudder screen, bring the rpm's up slowly. If you start to see the rudder angle increase there is an interference problem.
Try placing the feedback on the other engine. I have seen this correct an EMI problem.
One more thing, you might actually have a defective component.
cravenMH is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:46 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Middleburg, fl, clay
Posts: 22
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

tr-1 looks real good, I sure am getting mixed feelings about ray autopilot the chart plotter is really nice and I like the bottom machine alot.
RichieII is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:55 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlantic Beach, FL
Posts: 1,212
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

I have the Ray 5000+ and it was a waste of money. Well it works great while trolling.
Buck Wild is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 08:29 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberSponsorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central FL, US
Posts: 2,567
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

ave8er,

Can you post a few photos of your RRU install? I would like to see how the teleflex unit mounts.

I have mine working "ok" with the Tropica Mount and the Ray rotatry rudder ref. However, the port side tropica mount leaves a bit to be desired. If they could modify that L-bracket I think it could work better. When my engines (150 HPDI's) are turned hard to port the little ball rubs on my cowling and has actually bent the L-bracket downward. It is working but I don't have a great deal of confidence it will last.

Birdman has the same issue and we are trying to get it resolved.

This photo explains it all:



Just to get this thing mounted you need to buy your own hardware (they provide non SS self tapping screws...what a joke) and don't mention you need a 1" longer bolt where the L-bracket mounts to the cylinder and don't forget to use a lock washer (not mentioned in the instructions) or the L-bracket will rotate and the pivot arm will pop right off. I used both spacers provided with the kit but it still does not keep the L-bracket far enough away from the cowling.

I think one option is to drill a hole on the L-bracket so the ball mount can come up through the bottom. I think this would work because it would lower the ball down below the cowling.
East Coast Trailers is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 09:37 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Well, I WILL have the same problem. If haven't installed that bracket yet, but when I hold it up to the location, I have the same results. I'm going to fabricate a new L bracket out of piece of alluminum from Home depot. Because Raymarine seems to not care about this problem I'm going to try to fix it myself. Should be easy enough, you just need a lower and longer L bracket.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 05:33 PM
  #13  
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Birdman - 4/13/2004 9:37 AM

Well, I WILL have the same problem. If haven't installed that bracket yet, but when I hold it up to the location, I have the same results. I'm going to fabricate a new L bracket out of piece of alluminum from Home depot. Because Raymarine seems to not care about this problem I'm going to try to fix it myself. Should be easy enough, you just need a lower and longer L bracket.
Birdman May I suggest you get stainless as the aluminum bracket may not be strong enough . . . just thinking out loud
auguste is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 06:30 PM
  #14  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Middleburg, fl, clay
Posts: 22
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Do other ap owners have problems or just raymarine?
RichieII is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:47 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

I cant answer that, but it seems to me, that the main reason for the ray's failures is water intrusion.

I cant tell how well the seal is on the tube, but I would certainly consider mis-alignment of the rod end relative to the rod travel as a prime suspect in wearing out the seal. It generally takes very little lateral travel while cylinders are extending to wear out o-rings.

I am surprised that they dont recommend some type of ball joint coupling for the rod end to allow it some lateral slack. You cant find a splashwell mounted steering cylinder without that type of coupling for that reason.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 09:02 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Sea Dad,
HUH? What the heck are ya talkin bout? I think you are looking at the wrong thing in the picture. The problem has nothing to do with rust or wear... If you look at the above picture, the rotary rudder ref. unit is the black plastic thing on the top right hand side of the picture. It has that stainless rod with threading attached to it which attaches under the cowling. The problem is as you can see from the picture, one of the mounting brackets hits the cowling and then the braket bends (as it is in the picture). That bracket should be straight instead of bent the way it is.

This particular problem is simpy a physical problem with the Yamaha HPDI motor and SeaStar hydrolic cylander comination. There just is not much room to instal any kind of rudder ref unit back there.

But, Raymarine is working with me and Steve (EastCoast) and has a few solutions for us to try. And if they work, they will be VERY exciting and interesting. We shall see in the next few days/weeks.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 09:13 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

I was talking about failure of the linear feedback unit that is intended for o/b use. Not the rotary one, or your more immediate problem of rigging it.

I may have misunderstood the "Do other ap owners have problems or just raymarine" question.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 09:19 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Gotcha.

Well with regard to that, I've herd that if you treated the linear unit properly (kept it lubricated), it did not have a problem. The real problem with the linear unit is that it is about 3 feet long and almost impossible to install unless your hull has a 15' beam and a motor well which uses the entire beam!!

The Telestar linear unit has problems with noise (interference) from the larger motors. So the answer has been install the rotary ref. unit using this Tropica bracket (specially designed bracket to make the rotary unit fit). But since the motors cowlings have changed and the Seastar cylander has changed, it's just not fitting properly.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 09:30 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

I went with the linear unit and basically mounted it to the hydraulic ram and then clamped the rod end to the end of the ram's rod end with a psuedo swivel eye to give it some lateral play.

I may take up the habit of hitting it with white lithium grease to keep it lubed up. I will have to keep in mind the noise issue. I still havent gotten it out of the yard yet. I'll be danged if I just didnt commit to more pre-season work by ordering a lowrance 104C today too. :
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 10:08 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: raymarine autopilot and yamahas

Sea_Dad - 4/13/2004 9:30 PM

I went with the linear unit and basically mounted it to the hydraulic ram and then clamped the rod end to the end of the ram's rod end with a psuedo swivel eye to give it some lateral play.

I may take up the habit of hitting it with white lithium grease to keep it lubed up. I will have to keep in mind the noise issue. I still havent gotten it out of the yard yet. I'll be danged if I just didnt commit to more pre-season work by ordering a lowrance 104C today too. :
Which linear unit di you install? There is one made by Raymarine, and there is also one made by Tele... The tele one is the one with noise problems. If you have the Ray one, you shouldn't have a problem from what I hear.
Birdman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.