Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Old 04-10-2004, 03:39 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 63
Default Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Wanted to relocate my sounder and only way to reoute the the transducer cable was to cut it to remove the plug to get the wire thru pipes and holes. If i solder the ires abck togetehr will it effect performance?
bAsshole is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 03:51 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,730
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

I have never heard of anybody being able to complete the splicing of transducer wires!!!!...
Contact the mfg and ask them ... better safe than sorry......
...John
jtburf is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 03:59 PM
  #3  
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

I have seen a couple of manuals say to not cut transducer wires . . . I used a "cable clam" so that I could pass the connector and not have to cut the cable

Since it is cut . . . solder all connections, and properly wrap with shrink wrap and liquid tape to avoid picking up static and cross static . . . hope it works for you
auguste is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 04:30 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 4,058
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

I would not cut it. Use fish tape to run it where it needs to go. I am rather confident that most mfg's will tell you not to cut it.... If you cut it and it does not work wll, you will have a lot more work to do and it will cost you a much more money for the new TD.
crackerasscracker is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 07:35 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 42-05, 70-38
Posts: 120
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

I've cut them. On three of my past boats. No affect on performance. I soldered the conections, and wrapped it good with shink tube and liquid tape.
This is from Furuno's Website:

Question
Can I cut the cable for the 520-5MSD transducer and splice a longer length of cable
between it and the FCV600L? I need to run approximately 30M length. All splices would be in a shielded box and the wires run through a steel conduit.

Answer
Yes, you can. By using a junction box, you can add a longer length of transducer cable.

When cutting the cable, it is important to first separate the individuals wires (inside the cable) and cut each wire separately. This is necessary because the ceramic element in the transducer builds up a charge, and when the cable is cut it can discharge into the hall sensor (speed) and cause it to short out. Separating and cutting the individual conductors will prevent this.

Airmar, the manufacturer of the transducer, advises that the echo sounder performance is reduced as the cable length is increased.

halfseas is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:18 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 945
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

I have done it when a humminbird transducer went bad, no problem just make sure all is clean and water tight with liquid electric tape and shielding wire does not touch the center wire.
danielb is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:44 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Cripes, I have done it on every FF I have ever bought.

The secret to it is do a clean job, and on the wires that are shielded, make sure the shield covers tham when you are done. You can wrap aluminum foul around them if need be as it is a great shield against static.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 08:28 AM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 63
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Thanx guys great info and yes i thght i would wrap all soldered connections in foil to make a shield then shrink it.... wish me luck...its on the 1850DF so i'm not worried about speed sensor going bad, i'm pretty sure the unit gets speed from gps sensor...only ooops i did is cut the wire in one shot...i see the post that said to cut each wire in shot...other question i had was i dont even need the extra wire i cut could i just get a new plug and solder it on to the cut wire? i dont see a way to remove the old plug from the wire?
bAsshole is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 09:13 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,009
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Voice of experience here: Tried this on a Lowrance LMX 15MT and it WON"T work. There were 7 conncetions to be made, 2 of which had to be shielded and the damned splice was a royal mess even though I am skilled in electronics repairs. Think out of the box and find another way. Do a search on "splicing 'ducer cable" by Bailey Boat and also look for the followup...........................
Bailey Boat is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 09:29 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,727
Default Fishing tip.

This is the only "fishing" tip I'm qualified to give...

If you need to get a snake line through a tight spot and cant get a wire or rod in there, put a small paper 'parachute' on a piece of light line and use a vacuum cleaner to suck it past the obstruction. This sometimes works when the builder puts the wiring in channels then seals them over.

Good luck!
Kamper is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 11:46 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 4,058
Default RE: Fishing tip.

Kamper - 4/11/2004 8:29 AM



This is the only "fishing" tip I'm qualified to give...

If you need to get a snake line through a tight spot and cant get a wire or rod in there, put a small paper 'parachute' on a piece of light line and use a vacuum cleaner to suck it past the obstruction. This sometimes works when the builder puts the wiring in channels then seals them over.

Good luck!
That is a pretty cool trick....
crackerasscracker is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 06:16 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

b- Sorry, I will learn to watch my language - - 4/11/2004 7:28 AM

only ooops i did is cut the wire in one shot...i see the post that said to cut each wire in shot...other question i had was i dont even need the extra wire i cut could i just get a new plug and solder it on to the cut wire? i dont see a way to remove the old plug from the wire?

what??? whatever you meant to say was lost on the beer.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 08:06 PM
  #13  
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Default RE: Anyone kow if cutting & resplicing txducer cable will effect its performance?

Some manufacturers will not warrant the transducer if you cut the cable check first

STRONGLY recommend that you take the time and use cable clams

http://www.sailnet.com/store/item.cfm?pid=15490

They will take less time to install than to cut and splice your cable.

My builder showed them to me last year . . . I have six for all my cable . . . well worth the effort

A good seal and it makes for a professional looking job
auguste is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.