Notices

NavNet Radar Plotter

Old 12-29-2003, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,162
Default NavNet Radar Plotter

Can a Navnet Radar/Chartplotter be interfaced with the Gp36 and FCV 600L? Storebought connection cables? Connected through a hub?

Looking to add radar to a friend's Grady. Unless I find a wonder deal on some older equipment, I'm pushing him towards the navnet. That is, if all of his existing Furuno goodies will interface.

Which leads to question number two: Who's got the least distasteful chart chips/cards? C-MapNT, Navionics or Furuno. We're in the northern Gulf of Mexico. I use a Garmin and haven't used any of the newer card formats on any other chartplotters, so I have no clue.

If nothing else, what's everyones' favorite radar in the 24 nm, closed array, color display department. All the one's I use are nice old green/black CRT.

Anybody using JRC? Good, bad, indifferent?

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 04:48 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Little Egg Inlet, NJ
Posts: 391
Default NavNet Radar Plotter

all the furuno equipment listed will interface via NMEA connections. contact any major electronics dealer and they will get you the cables. i think the navnet takes a 7-pin nmea cable (mine does anyway), the 600l should take a 6-pin, and the gp-36 has the nmea cables as part of the wiring in the power cables. connect the nmea out wires from gp 36 to the nmea in on the navnet and the 600l.

the furuno cards have the same information as the c-map nt, they are just formatted different so the unit can read them, but the displayed data will be the same.

------------
Capt. Adam
Karen Ann II
captadamnj is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 06:47 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,256
Default NavNet Radar Plotter

Although you will be able to view digital depth from the 600L on the Navnet, you will not be able to show the sounder picture. For that you will need the BBFF1 or BBFF3 network sounders.
The GPS will feed positioning with no problem.
If this is a single station you will not need a hub, even if you add the network sounder

I also suggest using the C-Map charts.
cravenMH is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 11:35 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,162
Default NavNet Radar Plotter

CravenMH,

I guess you answered the question I was most concerned with. My friend is physically challenged and a unit that would display all the functions would be a plus. So, since I doubt he'll want to get rid of his FF, buy a new one (BBFF1 or BBFF3) and purchase a Navnet radar plotter, I guess we're looking for a standalone radar. But, I will pass this good info along and see what he feels like.

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread