Notices

navenet 3d

Reply

Old 01-12-2009, 05:56 AM
  #1  
Touche
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default navenet 3d

need new electronics and seeking info on the navnet 3d.

Worth buying over vx2? (big price difference)

Any shot that either of the 3d displays fit in the same cutouts as the 1934c? Know I can fit two 10" screens, not sure how much bigger the 12" 3d machine is overall.

Can the NN3D show Verado engine info?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 06:21 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 540
Default RE: navenet 3d

I am lookin at new electronics for my new boat and the 3d was looked at. I posted on the electronics forum and the response was dismal. Most owners are not happy with their charts. In fact one owner stated they "suck" now that is a shame. I wanted the 3d equip over the vx2 stuff. Looks like Furuno hasn't worked out the bugs yet. I spoke with a product specialist with Furuno and he stated the charts are a big focus right now and he hopes they will improve in a year or so. A year or so!!......No way I am spending that kind of $ to wait a year or so! Looking at the Garmin equipment. One thing is for sure. Nobody makes the best of everything! Good luck with your decision.
flyboy911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 08:26 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,292
Default Re: navenet 3d

Don't waste your money on the Vx2 stuff - it is now 9 year old technology (Vx1 & Vx2 same basic machine). The question becomes whether you want the NN3D, or a competitor's machine - Raymarine E or G, Garmin 4000/5000, Simrad; or to a lesser degree Northstar, Lowrance, SiTex.
NN3d 12" is bigger than the 10" Furuno (1934/54) - about 1.75" wider, not much higher (1/2" or deeper (3/4"). The Garmin 12" touch screens are almost the same size as the 1954 (1/4" narrower - I know because in a boat we did that had 2-Vx2 10", NN3d 12" would not fit, but 2 -4212 Garmin's did (the 4212's are an 1.5" wider than the 5212's, but 1/2" narrower than the NN3d 12").
LI32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 08:36 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: navenet 3d

The size of the hole should be the very last thing you worry about. How well you can see it, how easy you can learn it, and how well it plays with others should be at the top of your list of things to worry about. Holes can be stretched, shrunk, or moved very easily by anyone with a pail full of boat seed.

Boat seed is the stuff you throw in a mold, wait a little while, and out pops a boat. Simple.
sandyda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 08:50 AM
  #5  
Touche
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: navenet 3d

Sure bud... i'll just get a new console. If you don't have a direct answer to my query please don't reply about what you believe my worries are.

I'm looking for feedback from those who have used the 3d. I was curious if Furuno, despite the bigger screen, made the footprint for installation on the MFD12 about the same as 1934c - I know now that is not the case. I know there are concerns about the charts.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:41 AM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 56
Default Re: navenet 3d

I installed my NN3D last july - MFD12 - sirius WX - DFF1 - 3.5" Open array, AIS and Flir video input. The system is terrific - I have had Garmin and Northstar and Raymarine - I think furuno is the best of them all. For a brand new PC based system ( even the MFD 12/8 runs a Microsoft windows kernel operating system) the bugs have been tolerable and most key issues have been fixed. There is also a new download recently released.

With regard to charts, I use the raster charts and the Time zero redraw is awesome! I understand there are some complaints about charts but it has not affected my use in the northeast. The furuno website has documents and FAQ's describing the plans for integrating other chart technology (C-map - Navionics fis&chips??)
wjrjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:03 AM
  #7  
Touche
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: navenet 3d

Thank you. Given that the NN3d is built with future additions in mind, it has swayed me. I'm going to couple with a FCV 295 and have a deticated FF instead of two MFDs. the two 12' are just too big for the console. Wish I could fit the open array but height keeps me limited to the 24" dome - is the 3d hd version on the 24" dome a marked improvement? or finding birds still the world of open array?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:18 AM
  #8  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 56
Default Re: navenet 3d

First time with open array and have not used for tracking birds - older unit was mono with 24" dome, sorry cannot help there...

Question on FCV 295 - is this compatible with NN3D? meaning does it push the data to the network? Or is it a standalone unit. I have same problem in that I would like an added display for fish finding without the 2700$ cost of an MFD8
wjrjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:37 AM
  #9  
Touche
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: navenet 3d

As far as I know its a stand alone unit. I will check to see if it can send data to the ethernet hub to go to other network equipment. It is not part of the NN system. It uses an internal sounder, not the black box network sounder
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 07:00 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 240
Default Re: navenet 3d

I have 2 MFD12's and a 6kw open array attached to it. I'm in Ontario (Georgian Bay) and we only have raster charts, so I cannot comment on the vector chart issues that you have in the US.

My only complaint about the system is that is takes over a minute to power up. That may sound like a minor problem, and it is, but it's really the only complaint that I have.

There are some things that could be improved certainly, but everything is a huge leap forward from what we could buy just a year ago.

I would strongly recommend this unit over anything else on the market.
Praetorian47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 07:38 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 587
Default Re: navenet 3d

1 have a 12" MFD and a 4kw open array radar.

Contrary to the experience of some, my vector charts (East Coast Australia) are *excellent*. Not cheap but worth every cent.

Radar is unbelievable. Spectacular. I did a radar tracking lock on some yachty who was rowing his rubber duck back to shore. He was rowing at 0.7kt ... :-)

I have AIS so you can overlay a large ship's AIS marker on the radar & chartplotter. All three align dead on. Very reassuring.

Sounder is good. I have the 1kw DFF1 but to be honest I do miss the power from my old Furuno 2kw sounder. When I save some pennies I will upgrade to the DFF3. That must be one serious bit of kit.

3D on the other hand is a complete and utter waste of time. Just don't bother.

The larger 12" screen is better than the 10"/7" combo - you are drawing less power and its easier to look at a single screen.

Overall I score 9/10 compared to my twin VX2 screens at 6/10 compared to my previous Lowrance at 3/10.

Red_Tag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:09 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elberta, AL
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: navenet 3d

Red_Tag - 1/12/2009 6:38 PM

1 have a 12" MFD and a 4kw open array radar.

Contrary to the experience of some, my vector charts (East Coast Australia) are *excellent*. Not cheap but worth every cent.

Radar is unbelievable. Spectacular. I did a radar tracking lock on some yachty who was rowing his rubber duck back to shore. He was rowing at 0.7kt ... :-)

I have AIS so you can overlay a large ship's AIS marker on the radar & chartplotter. All three align dead on. Very reassuring.

Sounder is good. I have the 1kw DFF1 but to be honest I do miss the power from my old Furuno 2kw sounder. When I save some pennies I will upgrade to the DFF3. That must be one serious bit of kit.

3D on the other hand is a complete and utter waste of time. Just don't bother.

The larger 12" screen is better than the 10"/7" combo - you are drawing less power and its easier to look at a single screen.

Overall I score 9/10 compared to my twin VX2 screens at 6/10 compared to my previous Lowrance at 3/10.
You say you tracked a target on radar and got there speed and I assume heading. Does the 3D unit come with a ARPA card or do you have to buy it extra like I did in my NAV NET 1.
cold beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:23 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 587
Default Re: navenet 3d

A correction on my earlier post, I have a 4' 6kw open array radar (not 4kw).

Radar target tracking is standard (not sure if that is ARPA or not). You get history trails as well as targets icons which you can click on to get speed, heading etc.

To get AIS you need an extra box which is connected to the network and a second VHF aerial.

The reason I was impressed was that the radar was locked onto a man with a dog on a rubber raft with plastic oars. No metal.

You could almost see him glowing ...

;-)
Red_Tag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:26 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 587
Default Re: navenet 3d

Red_Tag - 1/14/2009 7:23 AM

A correction on my earlier post, I have a 4' 6kw open array radar (not 4kw).

Radar target tracking is standard (not sure if that is ARPA or not). You get history trails as well as targets icons which you can click on to get speed, heading etc.

To get AIS you need an extra box which is connected to the network and a second VHF aerial.

The reason I was impressed was that the radar was locked onto a man with a dog on a rubber raft with plastic oars. No metal.

You could almost see him glowing ...

;-)
Confirming, from a Furuno FAQ on Navnet 3D, you get 30 target ARPA built-in;

Q3-RADAR – Is the ARPA function an option, as it was with older NavNet Systems?
A3-RADAR – NO, every DRS radar sensor includes a “Built-In” 30 Target ARPA! ARPA
functionality does still require input of stabilized heading data.

Q4-RADAR – Is GPS COG information allowed for Heading and ARPA capability?
A4-RADAR – No, while some competitor’s radar systems allow GPS COG for Heading and
ARPA functionality, Furuno believes that this capability is dangerous and not reliable, especially
for ARPA calculations. NN3D systems require actual Heading information at appropriate data
rates for these functions.
Red_Tag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 06:40 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: navenet 3d

Verado does not talk to anyone at the moment except Northstar and Navman...both companies owned at one time by Brunswick....now owned by Navico
Glen E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:22 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 456
Default Re: navenet 3d

i have had NN3d since it was first released.....i love it. For your situation you can maybe consider a 12" and an 8" mfd. I had a small console and they fit. Now i have a bigger console and have 2 12" mfd's. I also have the dff1 and a 6kw open array. Im still learning. There have been about 3 updates to the software and boot up is a bit quicker. From what i heard, the vx2 was also slow to boot whne it first came out and that has changed with updates. If you want a good source of info, chech out this furuno webpage...this should keep u busy for awhile....

http://www.furunousa.com/Furuno/Room....entity.Entity[OID[D8D4221C0A55E34D8ED2C16FE825D3D8]]

doctodd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:24 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 456
Default Re: navenet 3d

by the way techsupport is top notch.

T
doctodd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 06:07 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: On the beach
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: navenet 3d

I've heard about the bugs and patches that they've been experiencing with the system, but they are working through them and I believe over time this system will be the system to use.

So I've decided to go with the Navnet 3D fro my boat. I'm leaning towards the black box setup with 2 seventeen inch screens for a 48' Express.

Can anyone tell me what supplier is the most competative as far as price is concerned. Looks like I'll be dropping a bunch of coin. I was actually thinking about making a trip to the Miami show for the purchase hoping to get the best deal.

Any help would be appreciated.
glassman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 12:12 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,314
Default Re: navenet 3d

glassman - 1/14/2009 6:07 AMI've heard about the bugs and patches that they've been experiencing with the system, but they are working through them and I believe over time this system will be the system to use. So I've decided to go with the Navnet 3D fro my boat. I'm leaning towards the black box setup with 2 seventeen inch screens for a 48' Express.Can anyone tell me what supplier is the most competative as far as price is concerned. Looks like I'll be dropping a bunch of coin. I was actually thinking about making a trip to the Miami show for the purchase hoping to get the best deal.Any help would be appreciated.
I don't think you need to bother with going to the Miami show to seek out a bargain given the size of the system you are considering. In my experience, you can do better by putting together a "bid list" of the hardware you intend to purchase and then going to a couple of dealers to get "package" quotes. If they have any sort of specials on for the boat show, you will get the benefit. You can also ask for an additional discount of 2-3% for paying by check. In my case, I went to Consumers Marine and to Jim at BOE for pricing on a two display NavNet 3D system with radar, sounder, AIS, etc., both of which I had bought stuff from in the past so they knew I was a real customer. BOE will try to match or beat prices and on a large order will give you free shipping. Consumers used to be more competitive but I think that has not survived their acquisition by Outer Banks. Jim was the best by a good margin and quite helpful in dealing with the issues caused by the delay in shipping last year of the NavNet MFD12 displays.

That will be a very big job as an installation. Have you lined someone up who is willing to do it without also selling you the hardware as is normal on big boat jobs? If you are doing it yourself, there are a lot of nuances to laying out the network and it will not be as simple as you might think.
ClassicGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:29 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: On the beach
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: navenet 3d

Classic Guy,

I have a person that can install if I provide product. Like you suggested I need to compile the list and get it out for bid.

That's the game plan for Saturday.
glassman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: