Notices

Blowing fuse hooking up GPS to VHF

Old 01-09-2009, 02:28 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 9,624
Default Blowing fuse hooking up GPS to VHF

I would like to say this is my first time here and WOW what a fantastic site.

Now my problem is that when I hookup my GPS (Lowrance LMS 520C) to my Cobra VHF Marine radio using the NEMA 1083 wires + & - to each other the fuse on my GPS blows. Is it possible that I am doing something wrong or is it possible that the wire harness from the radio is wired backwards?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
davidkuhlmann is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:21 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,206
Default Re: Blowing fuse hooking up GPS to VHF

It sounds as if you are hooking a "hot" wire to ground. The 520 has two power supplies--one for the unit and the other for the NMEA 2000 bus. Each of these needs to be separately fused by the red (+) wire. There is a 3rd set of wires us for NMEA 0183 data: Yellow is transmit, orange is receive and the shield is ground. The blue wire is not used. You need to match the Lowarance transmit (data out), with the receive (data in) on the radio. The shield would go to ground. I don't know the color scheme on the Cobra.
thataway is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:51 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 467
Default Re: Blowing fuse hooking up GPS to VHF

Just trying to butter us up to get an answer to your problems huh......



Actually, you're probably trying to put a 12V+ with a 12V- somewhere and since they aren't ment to be in series it is going to blow a fuse. Basically, check your wiring and double check it....twice! Sometimes it helps to have another set of eyes on it too. Hope you get your electronics hooked together
SteveKran is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 10:50 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 9,624
Default Re: Blowing fuse hooking up GPS to VHF

thataway - 1/9/2009 8:21 PM

It sounds as if you are hooking a "hot" wire to ground. The 520 has two power supplies--one for the unit and the other for the NMEA 2000 bus. Each of these needs to be separately fused by the red (+) wire. There is a 3rd set of wires us for NMEA 0183 data: Yellow is transmit, orange is receive and the shield is ground. The blue wire is not used. You need to match the Lowarance transmit (data out), with the receive (data in) on the radio. The shield would go to ground. I don't know the color scheme on the Cobra.
Thanks guys,

Bob,

The wire harness on the Cobra is just a single plug in with a black and a red wire. They are both marked and I did hook them up accordingly but with your explianation I now see what I did wrong and I feel like a total dummy Thanks for your info.

Now once spring gets here I will hook up this bad boy and get the boat back in the water. I love living in the Mid west but these winters with hard water need to go. Might be time for a trip south

Thanks again yep this is a Great site
davidkuhlmann is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread