Notices

Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Reply

Old 01-06-2009, 06:23 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 342
Default Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Does anyone know how to wire up the Garmin 4208 to the Yamaha F150 thru the Nema??

Thanks

paul
Capt and the Kids is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 06:40 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 159
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

If you have the Command link Yamaha gauges it is very easy. You can buy a Maletron cable to hook up to the Command link bus. You then need a T connector a cable and a terminator which will connect to your Garmin system. Jim at BOE Marine can set you up with this.
narrab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 07:03 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 342
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Thanks. i dont think i have Command Link. My engines are 2003. Is it possible to do if I dont have command link??

Thanks
Capt and the Kids is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:01 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kauai
Posts: 41
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Narrab, do you have this set up? We have trouble with twin yam 150 & command link to the garmn 4212 vi nmea2k. Our yamaha tachs quit after a few minutes and we don't get all the data on the garmin either. Had to shut down and remove the garmin connection to get our tach reading again. twice. Wewere using the maretron 003 cable straight from the command link buss to the back of garmin.There is a resistor at the end o the bussNo T.
poipu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:53 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 159
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

I have the Maletron cable that goes from the Command Link bus and screws into the end of the NMEA T this cable transfers data and also powers the NMEA Network. I have it connected to a NavNet 3d and a Garmin Autopilot and have not had any problems so far.
narrab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 06:54 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Myers Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2,617
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Capt and the Kids - 1/6/2009 9:03 PM Thanks. i dont think i have Command Link. My engines are 2003. Is it possible to do if I dont have command link?? Thanks
I don't think so. No way to get the data.

I used the Command Link output from our 2006 F150s and can see all the info I want on the Lowrance LMF-400 and/or LCX-112C.
ocnslr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:22 AM
  #7  
SIM
Senior MemberVendorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington Island,Wi USA
Posts: 13,904
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Capt and the Kids - 1/6/2009 8:03 PM Thanks. i dont think i have Command Link. My engines are 2003. Is it possible to do if I dont have command link?? Thanks
Your 2003 F225's are not Command Link compatible.

Andy
SIM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:14 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 342
Default Re: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

Thanks Andy

Paul
Capt and the Kids is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:44 PM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kauai
Posts: 41
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

narrab, with the T connections you mention is there also a cable to the garmin nmea 2k receptacle on the back of your display? Where is that coming from? thanks -
poipu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:20 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 159
Default RE: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

I have a NavNet3d that hooks tot he NMEA 2000 network via the T connector. The Malatron cable hooks from the Command link to the power port on the T network. I will upload a picture of the set up when I get a chance.
narrab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:40 PM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kauai
Posts: 41
Default Re: Garmin 4208 + Yamaha F150 Nema

it's a garmin network issue for us.
poipu is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: