Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

Notices

Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

Reply

Old 01-02-2009, 03:54 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Default Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

The APilot will, of course, follow a route set on your chartplotter, but, I have tons of tracks I would like the AP to follow but I don't think I can set the AP to follow tracks.

Part of the problem is that tracks are a series of many many little waypoints. The AP requires validation every time you reach a waypoint so, I would constantly agreeing to letting the AP go to the next waypoint.

Routes are more direct, longer lines of travel which makes the AP useful.

If I could figure out how to convert the tracks to routes, it might work.

Just wonderin'.

I've got a Garmin 4212, an S1000 AP and Mapsoure V4.30.
TheOtherLine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:42 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

Try this:

In Mapsouce (with your correct file opened) get your track displayed on the screen, Then just trace over it by clicking point by point with the Track Draw tool. It will not be the exact course in tight turns, but very close.

After you draw the route over the track hit escape. Then point to the overlapped lines and right click. Chose the route and its properties Then you can name it what you want to, change colors or whatever. The new route will be saved to that file if you then save the file settings.
DogTired is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:33 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,745
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

Watch my video again ... Use the functiuonalutry embedded in your chartplotter. When you save the track it actually turns it into a route but the new route is actually saved under saved tracks. Your AP will follow that saved track as though it was a route.

http://albums.phanfare.com/4892322/2...ageID=33687691
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 07:13 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

bluewaterpirate - 1/2/2009 9:33 PM



Use the functiuonalutry embedded in your chartplotter. When you save the track it actually turns it into a route but the new route is actually saved under saved tracks. Your AP will follow that saved track as though it was a route.

http://albums.phanfare.com/4892322/2...ageID=33687691
Okay Tom. I thought I heard you say that in the video but I thought maybe you misspoke. I'll give it a try. Thanks.
TheOtherLine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 07:15 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

DogTired - 1/2/2009 8:42 PM

Try this:

In Mapsouce (with your correct file opened) get your track displayed on the screen, Then just trace over it by clicking point by point with the Track Draw tool. It will not be the exact course in tight turns, but very close.

After you draw the route over the track hit escape. Then point to the overlapped lines and right click. Chose the route and its properties Then you can name it what you want to, change colors or whatever. The new route will be saved to that file if you then save the file settings.
Thanks Dog.....If Tom's idea works, that would be easier. If not, I'll give your instructions a shot.
TheOtherLine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 12:21 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

I think you can convert a track to a route in the ploter, can't ya? I remember when you are in the track list, there being an option to convert to route.... could be wrong though, just going by my bad memory.
Birdman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 07:26 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

DogTired - 1/2/2009 8:42 PM

Try this:

In Mapsouce (with your correct file opened) get your track displayed on the screen, Then just trace over it by clicking point by point with the Track Draw tool. It will not be the exact course in tight turns, but very close.

After you draw the route over the track hit escape. Then point to the overlapped lines and right click. Chose the route and its properties Then you can name it what you want to, change colors or whatever. The new route will be saved to that file if you then save the file settings.

Dog, that worked!

So, I now know how to convert Tracks to Routes using the functionality of the chartplotter, thanks to BWP and the Far and Away Birdman AND I know how to replicate routes out of tracks already saved in Mapsource.

The issue, I think, with convert tracks to routes on the chartplotter is that the waypoints that make up the route, display on the chart. It has a tendency to clutter up the screen. I say I think because I tinkered with it so much today that I'm getting a little confused over what button does what.

Anyway, my entire reason for starting this whole thing was to create a "path" that my AP could follow. The AP won't follow tracks. Only routes. If I use the chartplotter to convert the track to a route, I'll have a route with a bazillion waypoints.

I need to figure out a way to smoothen/lessen the waypoints without degrading the accuracy of the leg. You can somewhat modify the track points in Mapsource but it get's a little tricky.

I can't recall if there is a way to modify the number of track points in the chartplotter. I'l have to go look again.
TheOtherLine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 08:05 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,745
Default Re: Is there a way to convert tracks to routes on Mapsource?

You can modify the number of track history points using time or distance. There is a menu selection embedded with the edit tracks/route menu.

Here you go watch the video.http://albums.phanfare.com/4892322/2...ageID=32948767
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 04:17 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 17
Default furuno tzt14 how to convert track to route within chartplotter

Is there anyway to convert a track to a route on a furuno chartplotter?

Thanks

Kuchinn
kuchinn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: