Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

Old 04-05-2004, 08:04 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: tampa
Posts: 590
Default who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

any comments on this....i have one but dont think its good enough....
1972stamas is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 09:50 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 19,126
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

Not sure which one you have - Skakespeare makes both 3 ft fiberglass as well as 3 ft base-loaded SS whips & also not sure what kind of answer you're looking for? All of their 3 ft'rs are 3db antennas so you have to get it pretty high to realize any range from it. Due to their size they're great for small boats, but if your boat is 17 of longer and you want better range, you need to go with one Shakespeare or Digital's 8 ft 6db antennas, with which you will likely come close to doubling your range. Shakespeare also makes several different 8 ft 6db antennas - the less expensive ones ($39-$59) will not perform as well as the more expensive ones ("Galaxy Models" = +/-$100).
First Light is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 10:15 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: tampa
Posts: 590
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

thanks i did some research and will be replacing it soon...
1972stamas is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 08:14 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Port Charlotte ,FL -
Posts: 504
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

Stamas
I use a 3ft base loaded SS VHF antenna on my t-top and have good results ..I pick up the USCG from St Pete to Ft Myers....where are you mounting the antenna? Lots of factors to figure in...how far you venture out......size of boat.... mounting location....but even tho the bigger antennas have a greater DB rating the longer they get the more directional they become.....
chalkguy is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 08:21 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

ditto. I have a 3' stainless. It does work fine on my hardtop and I've tested it 15 miles offshore...but before I venture any further, I'll be moving to an 8' digital. My only problem is that I will have to remember to raise/lower it because I have one 12' clearance bridge to go under. I may compromise and move to the 4' but I have to check the clearance a little better. 3' never hits.
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 08:26 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,397
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

I have the Shakespeare 5240 3' Stainless Steel loaded whip. I have it mounted with a ratchet mount on the grab rail. It works real good. Several lakes and rivers I fish have low bridges and this little guy is perfect. I do not go over 10 miles offshore. If I did, I would use something else much taller.
HOTSPOT is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 08:35 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lewes, DE
Posts: 4,924
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

GAM Electronics makes a stainless steel baseload antenna that has a 6db gain that might be an option for you.
http://outfittersparadise.com/g/Gam_Electronics/
Megabyte is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 12:30 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

I use the 4' Digital antenna, I find it works better than most 8' shakey antenna's I compared it to. And that is real life comparisons in the great south bay.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 12:37 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Port Clinton, OH
Posts: 11
Default RE: who uses the 3' vhf ant from shakesphere

I also use the 4' Digital antenna (mounted on the t-top). Works well for me.
Reel Lucky is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.