Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Old 12-02-2008, 10:21 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 497
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Anyone else have any problems with their LBS-1? I bought one of the first 400 that came out. I installed it and it had a hard time locking on, even at the dock. I had to turn off the switch for the LBS-1 and then the LCX-113hd. I would turn one off and then the other. Finally after 50 miles of it not locking on, it did. The screen was really clean. Not much adjustment. There really are no instructions. I ran it for a couple of months and the screen started slowly getting some clutter on the screen. It got harder and harder to lock on and the screen got more clutter. It finally quit. I got on the phone with Lowrance Tech and we figured out that it was not working. The drop down menu was missing where you set it for the sounder. I UPSed it to them. I got it back and it was the same unit with the same serial number. I installed it again on the boat and I got it to work. First fishing trip out it quit again. I had to repeatedly turn off the 113 and then the LBS-1 to get it to lock on and it never did. I have both the LCX113hd and the LCX104C. I have had to drop back and rely on my 104 many many times. They are side by side thank goodness. I bought the 104 as I thought the hard drive units might be a bad deal when they came out with the 111. Which it proved to be a great unit.

When my LBS-1 came back there was no explanation just a repair number. I am wondering if the LBS-1 went out or my 113 is going on the blink. I am really getting frustrated as I have bought many extra cables, and connectors as these have gone out too, over a not very long time.

I do several long range trips a year that are pretty deep water. I spent thousands on electric reels and thought that the LBS-1 would be right up my tree. I hope I can get it going before this spring. I bought all new cables when I hooked it up.

Has anyone else had this problem with the LBS-1? When you fire up your LBS-1 do you turn on your 113 first or last? Does it make a difference? Does your lock on right away or does it take a long time like mine. I would think it shouldn't make a difference. The LBS-1 is a great unit when it works, but lately my Lowrance working to not working has had a high failure rate. I have many friends that are non Lowrance that have the other top of the line brands and I really like the Lowrances better as I think the fishfinder is second to none, when it works.

Does anyone have any troubleshooting info for the ethernet connector or cables? I really want to get this resolved. I kind of had to help Lowrance tech help in figuring it out as they were not to savvy with the LBS-1. Hopefully by now they are a little more up to speed. I was hoping that they would replace the LBS-1 instead of sending the same unit back. Also a corner of the plate on the back of it was bent when it came back. I presume it was done in shipping.

Thanks in advance,
Ron
Old 12-03-2008, 10:40 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 497
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

After talking with tech support, they are saying that my LBS-1 was working fine and they did nothing to it when they had it back. Of course when I went out to the boat with a remote phone to trouble shoot it, it worked fine. I even restarted it and it worked. I hung up with them and restarted it, of course then it failed. I feel like pigpen on Charlie Brown with a cloud of doom over my head. I am beginning to think there might be a problem with my head unit. I did the 2.4 upgrade too just to see if it worked, which it didn't.

Back to tech support.......
Old 12-03-2008, 11:08 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

I realize this may not be your issue, but, there are software updates for your LCX113HD, I looked online with Lowrance and there seems to be new software available for your unit as of 9/30/08 AND even a betta version a month later. The Beta version looks like there are a HUGE amount of updates for the bottomfinder! I would download the beta and see if your unit improves....

Good luck.

See list---
What changes are made in this update?

http://www.lowrance.com/en/Products/...date-242-BETA/

Improved weed bottom tracking - To enable, view the SONAR page, press the MENU button to open the Sonar Menu and select SONAR Featuers... and in the Fishing Mode drop-down box, ensure Shallow water is selected
Includes all features from previous updates, including:
Production-only changes
Added Lowrance HD radar support via serial communications
Added Greek language
Added Polish language
Added ability to take a screenshot capture of the display on the unit and save to a card/hard drive – In Screen Snapshot mode, use the power key to capture the screenshot
Added Navionics Platinum support including 3D view and panoramic photos
Added support for the Lowrance Broadband Sounder-1
Updated language translations
Improved sonar digital depth tracking in weeds and over bluffs
Improved Navionics support
Changed Map/Sonar/Radar page to be resizeable
Modified backlighting properties
Improved ethernet stability
Moved the Cancel Navigation menu item to the top of the system menu
Many modifications to radar settings and features
Modified SD/MMC data storage properties
Added support for HDM NMEA0183 sentence
Improved Navionics card support
Added sonar sharing over ethernet
Modified Data Storage functionality to properly display storage usage
Old 12-03-2008, 12:12 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 497
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Hewesfissher,
Thanks for the info. I am shy of the BETA as I have enough trouble with the standard upgrades. Tech Support just told me that if it is an intermittent problem, it will not show up while it is working when they test it. Thinking about it, it works every time when I first plug it into the boat. Its after that it does not work. Maybe I need to disconnect all of the wires and plug them back in. Needless to say they are doing an incident report and going to exchange it. Thats the Lowrance I know!!!

The more I think about it, the more I think its the LBS-1 as it was losing strength or clarity the longer I used it. I have one friend with an LBS-1 and I am going to take my 113 and LBS-1 to his boat to do the process of elimination. They said they have components that go bad. When they test them, they have no way of checking the longevity of them and they can go out at any time.

I think I am going to get a band aid to put on my glasses and become a computer nerd to keep it working....
Old 12-03-2008, 01:34 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

No problem
Let us know how you make out.
Old 12-30-2008, 07:32 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 5,747
Received 88 Likes on 58 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

How's your power supply - can you tie the performance of the LBS-1 to any drop in voltage? Intermitten electrical problems are gremlins, but I would start w/ your battery & wiring, and work back from there - process of elimination.
Old 12-30-2008, 09:14 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

I realize this is a weeks old thread but I have a question to ask. Kind of a sidetrack.
Do you notice any noise on your vhf from the ethernet cable? Mine is very noisy. channel 68 is unuseable when the enet cable is connected. I'm wondering if the cables are the issue.

Thanks
Old 01-03-2009, 05:01 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 981
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Do you notice any noise on your vhf from the ethernet cable? Mine is very noisy. channel 68 is unuseable when the enet cable is connected. I'm wondering if the cables are the issue.
My enet cable runs within a foot of my VHF radio (inside the console) and I have no interference at all... I'd check the radio first (maybe verify it with a handheld) and go from there...
Old 01-04-2009, 01:56 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

I think my antenna may be bad.
Old 01-04-2009, 07:49 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 470
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

edyer, I have to tell you that I have the exact same problem with the VHF. No problem if I don't use the BBS. My VHF is near my FF and I tried different wiring paths but no love. I was told the problem was the pinging that is done by the BBS. Not sure what to try. Any ideas?
Old 01-04-2009, 09:32 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

In my case it is only happening when the ethernet cable is connected. i also tried isolating the radio and adding extra grounds etc to see if it would work but it didn't. So I need to do two things at this point.

1. get a portable vhf and see if it has the same problem.
2. try a different antenna.

That should rule out the radio side of the problem. Then it would have to be the gps, sounder etc. That one will be harder to chase down.

just out of curiosity what are you using. I'm using the lcx 27, gm5200 and the radio is an icom 422.
Old 01-07-2009, 09:20 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

FishnutNW, is the LCX113 a 2007 model? I remember reading about issues with some older 2007 models that had a few problems with software (Purchased in 2006 but said it was a 2007 model type thing), there was no fix, Lowrance software only supports 2007 and newer models. I hope you get it fixed, no one should be without a good sounder...I used to have a Hummingbird 997NVB (still do) but that thing was crap in the big blue, any speed or waves just sent it to LaLa land.
I just bought a new Lowrance HDS unit I hope it works as advertised. Good luck
Old 01-08-2009, 04:57 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 470
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

I am using 2 screens. A 112C and a 5200C. My radio is also an icom 422 with a digital antenna. I really need to get to the bottom of this by the spring because it was terrible from the moment I added the BBS in July. Edyer, send me a pM with your email and I'll communicate with you as I work on this problem....Lou
Old 01-10-2009, 01:56 AM
  #14  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 957
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

i was amazed to see this post... i spent the last four days fabricating a complete dash plate for my LCX113HD and LCX27C... i installed them and it turned out great... i mounted my VHF radio on top of my dash.... and to my discovery, when i was using the VHF with the broadband sounder turned on, i had an immense bleed over.... it made my VHF unusuable... it took me a awhile to narrow it down to the bbs-1 module.... sure as sh!T, when i unplugged the ethernet cable, the noise and bleed over went away.... i even went as far as rewiring my VHF radio to a different power source to see if that was it.. same problem occured... i hooked up the airmar ducer and lowrance ducer to each a machine and i didn't have any problems... when i run one of the ducers through the LBS1 , i get all sorts of noise on my VHF... it's as if the cables were'nt even shielded for this sort of thing.... anyone have any ideas? i'd like to use the broadband sounder, but at risk of not using my VHF , it's not worth it... i'd have to fabricate a electronics box to put my vhf in my hardtop and redo the wiring AGAIN... what a pain... any help would be appreciated.. it's not like this is a new problem it seems....

Old 01-10-2009, 07:06 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 470
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Hi Navyaircrew, well, that's 3 of us. Probably a thousand more. My boat is in winter storage now or I would be playing with it. We all know the problem is the BBS. Maybe the ethernet cable. Have you tried to encase the ethernet cable in aluminum foil? Either regular aluminum foil or the type that is a tape used to seal air conditioning ducts. This was my next thought.
What type of radio do you have?...Lou
Old 01-10-2009, 02:16 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

I ruled out the bbs. I get it with any ethernet combo. It has to be the units or the cable. The common thing here is we all have ethernet cables. The units are different. I have the lcx 27c and the gm 5200. FishFat has the 113 and the 5200 and navy has the 113 and the 27.
i'm using the 3' cable how about you guys.


i'm stuck at work until tomorrow morning but I will try the foil when I get home..
Old 01-11-2009, 02:39 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Tried shielding the ethernet cable. No difference. I'm going to call lowrance on Monday. I'm sure they will say they never heard of this problem. Also I have a 2' cable not 3'.
Old 01-11-2009, 03:52 PM
  #18  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location:
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

Edyer,
Maybe you could try attaching the shield you have wrapped around the cable to ship ground. Just do this from one point to prevent creating a ground loop.
Old 01-11-2009, 05:56 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

I just tried to ground the shielding. It did not make much difference but it did change the tone of the noise. Tried a seperate antenna ,no change..It has to be the enet cable.
Old 01-11-2009, 06:12 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 470
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Broadband Sounder problems

When I spoke to Lowrance they said to try and separate the BBS from the VHF. Yeah....maybe they will buy me a bigger boat.
Thinking about this logically can we determine the : cause of the interference? Is it the BBS box or the ethernet cable itself?
Then can we determine the pathway for the interference to the radio. Is it the power cable, the antenna cable or is it radiated into the air?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.