Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance radar ?

Old 10-26-2008, 03:33 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance radar ?

I helped a buddy install his LRA4000 over the weekend. The radar went well but the GPS came up with a lost signal then a GPS not responding message Checked connections turned unit off then on with radar on the GPS came on was working for about 10 min. then lost signal again. The GPS anntina is about 3 feet from the radar and lower by about a foot any thought
Thanks
Old 10-26-2008, 04:59 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 138
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance radar ?

Only guessing, but it sounds like you may have disturbed the gps antenna cable connection. First thing I would do is, disconnect the connector at the gps antenna and check the voltage on the #1, (gnd) and #2, (+) pins, (with the unit on).

Check out this link for a better description of the pin location - http://primus.lowrance.com/icr/NMEA%...Connectors.htm

If you have an enclosed raydome, and it's 3' away, and 1' above the gps antenna, (as you stated) you shouldn't be getting any interference from it. But... not sure about an open array. You might have to put the antenna on a pole mount and get it up higher than the array.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.