Notices

Radar Scanner Question

Old 10-22-2008, 12:28 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 959
Default Radar Scanner Question

This is for all you electronic whizzes out there....

Can you use a Radar scanner from one manufacturer for another display? I mean, don't they all have the same basic operation and electronics? I realize the plugs may be different, but Radar is Radar right? I would think that there is some same basic wiring that should make the radar transmit and receive a basic signal...Is it like NEMA 0183 or NEMA 2000 or is everything proprietary?
cWICKBERG is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Stuart - Palm Beach
Posts: 17
Default Re: Radar Scanner Question

tcm,

I don't think that will fly. There are software compatibilities that need to be considered in addition to just electrical terminations. Furthermore, the correct splicing of a radar cable is a be-atch! There are many very fine conductors in that cable including a co-axial cable not much bigger than a regular pencil lead..

In 15 years in the marine electronics business I have never tried to force a marriage between one brand of array and another brand of display.

I don't think it will work.
RadarsRUs is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 03:34 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 959
Default Re: Radar Scanner Question

Yea...I was expecting this response...Oh Well, I need to keep looking for a good deal for my Northstar system
cWICKBERG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread