Notices

Bad Temp readings

Old 10-21-2008, 02:26 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 29
Default Bad Temp readings

I have a Garmin 498 that I bought new in March of this year. All of a sudden I'm getting temp readings of 172, 168, etc. The actual water temp is probably 72 or 68 but I can't be sure. A friend has a 498 also so I put the head of my unit on his boat. Got the same kinds of readings. I did a master reset and still got the same readings. Garmin said to send it back and they would repair the head and send it back under warranty. But, the killer is it will take about 2 weeks for them to repair and return. I need the unit for fall fishing.

Does anyone have any suggestions of what I can try before I return it?

I appreciate any help anyone can give.

Lew
fishnspoon is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 02:32 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default RE: Bad Temp readings

fishnspoon - 10/21/2008 5:26 PM

I have a Garmin 498 that I bought new in March of this year. All of a sudden I'm getting temp readings of 172, 168, etc. The actual water temp is probably 72 or 68 but I can't be sure. A friend has a 498 also so I put the head of my unit on his boat. Got the same kinds of readings. I did a master reset and still got the same readings. Garmin said to send it back and they would repair the head and send it back under warranty. But, the killer is it will take about 2 weeks for them to repair and return. I need the unit for fall fishing.

Does anyone have any suggestions of what I can try before I return it?

I appreciate any help anyone can give.

Lew
If you can't live without it, and can't borrow one, find some other way to measure water temperatures and send it back later. Don't wait untill it is out of warranty.

If there were a simple fix you could do yourself, Garmin would have told you how to do it.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 02:40 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 332
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

i would say the same ,if you put it on your buds boat and did the same its in the unit .. did you take your buds unit and try it on your boat ?
woolyt2 is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 04:44 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 29
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

I didn't try that since my boat is about 2 hours away. I keep it down at the coast. I did hookup his unit and got good readings.

Thanks for the advice guys. I knew it was a long shot but thought I would ask.
fishnspoon is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 04:59 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 700
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

I had the same thing. The first to go is the temp, then the speed. They (mine was an Airtech) sent me a new "insert" that I had to splice into the thru-hull. They told me that this is typical of how they stop working, that is first the temp, then the speed. good luck. - Glen
OnaRampage is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 06:31 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

Agree with the above. If you mistakenly unplugged and replugged the transducer while power was applied, the sensitive circuitry in the temp sensor can get fried VERY easily.

Bottom line - whenever unplugging or replugging the temperature sensor, make sure there is no power to the system.
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 06:32 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

If your head unit worked fine on his boat it is likely the problem is either your temp sensor in the transducer or the cable. Sensor failure is not uncommon. Voltage spikes can kill them pretty easy.
sickcat is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 09:20 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

He mentioned his display unit did the same thing on the other boat. This clearly indicates the problem is with the display, NOT the transducer.
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 09:52 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

Birdman - 10/22/2008 12:20 PM

He mentioned his display unit did the same thing on the other boat. This clearly indicates the problem is with the display, NOT the transducer.
Yep, that's what he said.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 12:28 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 29
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

yep, that's what I said..........LOL. Thanks guys. I'm going to send it back to Garmin. The weather is so lousy here, it's going to be over a week before I can get out again, so might as well go ahead and get it fixed. They said they would send me a newly repaired one. That sort of bothers me since I bought a NEW one, not a refurb. Guess there's no difference in fixing mine and getting a refurb but it seems that when they're under warranty, you should just get a new one. Oh wait, they don't make that one anymore. Well, the one that replaced it would work fine. Yeah, count on that happening.
fishnspoon is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 12:35 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

fishnspoon - 10/22/2008 3:28 PM

yep, that's what I said..........LOL. Thanks guys. I'm going to send it back to Garmin. The weather is so lousy here, it's going to be over a week before I can get out again, so might as well go ahead and get it fixed. They said they would send me a newly repaired one. That sort of bothers me since I bought a NEW one, not a refurb. ..................
Yes, but the one you bought is now "used". If it didn't work out of the box they would probably send you a new one.

When I sent my 182c in for (paid) repair, they sent me a much newer unit as a replacement. Better? Who knows, but it was newer. There's a good chance that the refurbushed unit is better than a new one because someone has to actually test each function after they repair it.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 05:40 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Bad Temp readings

rwidman - 10/22/2008 12:35 PM
fishnspoon - 10/22/2008 3:28 PM yep, that's what I said..........LOL. Thanks guys. I'm going to send it back to Garmin. The weather is so lousy here, it's going to be over a week before I can get out again, so might as well go ahead and get it fixed. They said they would send me a newly repaired one. That sort of bothers me since I bought a NEW one, not a refurb. ..................
Yes, but the one you bought is now "used". If it didn't work out of the box they would probably send you a new one. When I sent my 182c in for (paid) repair, they sent me a much newer unit as a replacement. Better? Who knows, but it was newer. There's a good chance that the refurbushed unit is better than a new one because someone has to actually test each function after they repair it.


My BAD!! I took "got the same kinds of readings" to mean that both his and his buddies head unit displayed the temp correctly. I will try to pay attention better in the future!
sickcat is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread