Notices

Navnet question/problem?????

Old 10-20-2008, 05:45 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rocky Point FL
Posts: 8,428
Default Navnet question/problem?????

I am currently in Abascon NJ getting ready to take a boat south for the winter. We have been checking the electronics out and seem to be having a problem with the Furuno Navnet plotter. This appears to be a 1st generation plotter as the boat is a bout six years old.
Here's my problem:
When you zoom down to say 2 miles or so it shows all yellow and a few markers. We only get land definition when we zoom out to 128 miles. I am sure this is not correct? Is it the chip?
I also noticed that when we scroll down to chesapeke bay entrance then try to zoom in to get some defination the machine locks up and we have to power down and restart WTF?
I have all the correct chips something seems wrong here or is there a setting thats' incorrect?
Any help will be appreciated as we are leaving tomorrow in the AM?
r.waddill is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 10:51 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 3,758
Default Re: Navnet question/problem?????

I'm thinking of getting a navnet system. So I'm only guessing from what it might be from the system I have. yellow on mine represents land. So you/the boat may be at a start up point origanated on land. Mine, I just press clear and the unit orients itself to its real position. If the cards are not being read by the unit it may also give that effect on mine because it is only reading a basic chart installed in the unit at the factory. There may even be ,in settings a unit of measure that is turned off for certain depths . I use sitex and it is Soooooooo easy to use. Furuno does have the best name in the business. good luck
boatmanalso is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:27 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rocky Point FL
Posts: 8,428
Default Re: Navnet question/problem?????

I got an email from furuno saying they suspect its a bug in the older software and the software needs to be updated by a dealer.
r.waddill is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread