Notices

Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

Closed Thread

Old 05-30-2003, 04:17 PM
  #1  
bej
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Danbury, TX
Posts: 385
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

I'm seriously considering the Simrad combo radar/dgps plotters. I'd appreciate any feedback. The models are the 10" CR42 or CA42 w/ sounder. Probably will go with 4kW 36nm 24" radome. Given the steep cost, I'd sure like some objective feedback...

Lefty
bej is offline  
Old 05-30-2003, 04:25 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Miami, FL US
Posts: 49
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

I have the RA40 monochrome radar with 2KW dome.

It is great, easy to use, picture is clear and on calm days able to pick up birds 3 miles away.

They make great products, good luck.
Murf is offline  
Old 05-30-2003, 06:33 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,921
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

I have the CA42 and love it. The 2k radome suits my needs but I opted for the big Airmar transducer. When I crank up the power I can read bottom fish @ 700 feet like they were right under the boat - listening to the ducer wumping out 1000 watts sounds like somebody tapping on the bottom of the boat with a ball peen hammer - surprised they don't float to the surface belly-up!

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's
Chaps is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 04:52 AM
  #4  
bej
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Danbury, TX
Posts: 385
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

Chaps, give me some more info on the transducer. I realize the CA42 has a 1000w sounder but Consumers Marine catalog only lists one transducer P52 transom mount? Did you match another transducer to this unit? If so how do you go about determining what is and isn't compatible....I'm actually leaning towards Simrad's EQ33 to keep the sounder and DGPS split. I had hell with a combo unit before. I've used their 600w sounder before and been impressed. Again if I go that route should I be looking at different transducers?

Lefty
bej is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 04:55 AM
  #5  
bej
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Danbury, TX
Posts: 385
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

Chaps, how about a little education on the larger transducer. The Consumers Marine catalog only shows one transducer a P52 transom mount. Did you match another transducer to your unit? If so, how did you determine what is and is not compatible? I just sold my boat that had Simrad's CE32 which had the 600w sounder and I was happy with that. Should I be considering upgrading the transducer? My thoughts are to seperate the plotter and sounder as the last combo as a pain...

Lefty
bej is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 06:32 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Miami, FL US
Posts: 49
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

I have a aimar B260 thru hull, great for deep water, another option is the B256, both very powerful transducers and if you contact airmar they can tell you which one. The CE32 can use a 1KW transducer.
Murf is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 09:43 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,921
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

Transducer I'm using is the R155, big monster held on with two large bolts. Check their site at: Airmar Commercial Transducers In the dual freq 50/200 version.

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's
Chaps is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 05:21 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 689
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

I put the simrad eq42 on my boat last year. It is one awesome unit. If you get the simrad, consider their combi transducer instead of the airmar. It is better quality and designed for that unit. Unfortunatly it is more money but well worth it.
termite is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 07:25 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nantucket, Ma
Posts: 214
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

I have the CE42, and it is really nice. There were a few software versions that were quirky, but the latest software I put in seems good. I don't think the plotter is as fast as some, but it is good. Once you get used to the menu system, using the unit is easy, it just takes a little more time to learn. They just came out with the 44 series which is a new version which they advertise as faster and easier to use. I got the Simrad Combo 38/200hz transducer, which is supposed to be a commercial grade unit. So far it is very impressive, but it should be at $950. Its almost as big as a football, so I flushmounted it into my keel. I have used the Simrad Anritsu radar on a friends boat, and I was very impressed with the clarity and performance.
Eric S is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 03:57 PM
  #10  
bej
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Danbury, TX
Posts: 385
Default Simrad Radar/Plotters CR42/CA42

It's on order...

Bit the bullet today and ordered the CA44. Talked myself out of seperate sounder and Radar/chartplotter. For basically the same price as a CR44/EQ33 I was able to get the CA44 with the 1000w Airmar TM256 transducer. Wish I would have seen the post about Combi before I placed the order. My thinking is that I can always back pedal and pickup a EQ33/42 and reuse the transducer but I only get one chance to decide between CA (w/sounder) and CR (w/o sounder). Consumers Marine really got agressive on the price much below that advertised in their Jan. '03 catalog. Now its time to wait on delivery!

Lefty
bej is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: