Notices

Radome or Open Array

Old 10-18-2008, 04:00 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 68
Default Radome or Open Array

Radome or Open Array Radar ?? what is the benifit? how much diff. are we talking?
I've 31 cc and lookin to upgrade my system, stick with Radome or Open Array Radar? both are 48 nm
pursuity is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 05:23 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Radome or Open Array

Typically the benefit to the open array is a narrower hortizontal beam width. The narrower the beam width the better target separation. That means if your looking at two targets close together a wider beam width will be more likely to show it as a single target than the narrower beam width.
sickcat is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 05:25 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,341
Default Re: Radome or Open Array

It depends on what you expect it to do. Open arrays cost more because they perform better - the have better definition and target seperation. Range is only a small part of the equation, because rarely will you ever use full power and never max range. A 4' open array will find birds - a 24" dome will never do so reliably. If all you are looking to do is avoid hitting something in your path a dome is fine. If you are going to use it offshore to keep tabs on ships (MARPA and/or AIS), find birds and show bouys ata distance of more than a mile, open array is the best choice.
LI32 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 03:18 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 68
Default Re: Radome or Open Array

lets say a small bouys with a mile? does the 48 dome do the job?
what am asking for is the 48 nm dome and open array radar, ? mostly offshore use ..
pursuity is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 07:02 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: Radome or Open Array

In good conditions (those times when you may not need a radar anyway) the Dome will pick up bouys and channel markers with reflectors at much more than a mile if mounted high enough and if level with the horizon at that boat speed. Open arrays cost so much more (in dollars, pounds, structure and amps) that the choice is a no brainer unless you know you need the best target resolution, such as having to see birds at 5 miles.
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:00 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: Radome or Open Array

I have the 4kw Furuno radome and running offshore I can consistently pick up small buoys or any other objects out to 4nm without a problem.
Southern Hunter is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:07 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 68
Default Re: Radome or Open Array

I'll stick with raymarine radar because I already have the E-120 display .. is there big diff. between the furuno and raymarine? how good the raymarine radome radar ? the 48 nm .. !!
No need for more than 4 mile away for my usage .. I go offshore all the time, for more than 40+ miles away... 4 miles is much for my use, you need to drive atleast 5 minutes with a speed of 40+ to get at that 4 miles point ..
pursuity is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread