Notices

Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

Old 10-17-2008, 09:33 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 84
Default Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

Version 1.11 should be coming out any day now... apparently we may see it as soon as this Monday.

No word on new functionality or bug fixes, but it is supposed to be a substancial release.

Just FYI.
boats02 is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 12:05 AM
  #2  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,540
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

Sweet. I have not even gotten around to uploading 1.10. I put it on a card and never dowloaded to the units. Oh well I guess I will just erase and start over with 1.11 and if it is major I will surely do so. I am looking for the NW chart patch if you have the Canada chart pack and also the DSM patch they were discussing.

Also why does the radar not have self park??? That is a no brainer.
PSW is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 06:32 AM
  #3  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

PSW - 10/18/2008 3:05 AM

Sweet. I have not even gotten around to uploading 1.10. I put it on a card and never dowloaded to the units. Oh well I guess I will just erase and start over with 1.11 and if it is major I will surely do so. I am looking for the NW chart patch if you have the Canada chart pack and also the DSM patch they were discussing.

Also why does the radar not have self park??? That is a no brainer.
they use valet service instead?
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 03:22 PM
  #4  
RMM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 551
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11



WHAT IS SELF PARK?

I wish could set so the radar would automatically overlay when activated the radar.
RMM is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:43 AM
  #5  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,540
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

RMM I don't think you want overlay automatically. It is pretty quick to get overlay on the chart if the radar is already running. I use radar on its own screen more often than I use overlay.

The self park is when you turn the radar off it will align itself straight forward each time or however you program it to do. I am pretty anal and it just bugs me.
PSW is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 07:13 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Down Under
Posts: 410
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

PSW - 10/18/2008 1:05 PM

Sweet. I have not even gotten around to uploading 1.10. I put it on a card and never dowloaded to the units. Oh well I guess I will just erase and start over with 1.11 and if it is major I will surely do so. I am looking for the NW chart patch if you have the Canada chart pack and also the DSM patch they were discussing.

Also why does the radar not have self park??? That is a no brainer.
PSW, I am pretty sure that the NN3D does have self park. I'll need to check when I go down to the boat again but I do not remember setting it up and like I say I'm sure it was self parked facing the front.
Wildfish is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 08:17 PM
  #7  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,540
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

I asked Furuno tech and they knew nothing of the feature. Seemed like something it should have. My neighboring boats in the marina with the E series like to remind me when I am washing that I need to climb up and straighten the radar antenna. Funny thing is I normally do jump up there and take care of it. I am the guy who washes the hardtop. I figure dirt has no height restrictions and sh*t flows down hill.
PSW is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 05:04 AM
  #8  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

PSW - 10/19/2008 12:43 PM


The self park is when you turn the radar off it will align itself straight forward each time or however you program it to do. I am pretty anal and it just bugs me.
think of it this way.... at least you take your boat out of the marina and actually use the radar. i would leave it where ever it stops just to remind the folks that never leave the slip.
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 08:51 AM
  #9  
RMM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 551
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

Anything further on when the update will be out?
RMM is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 07:12 AM
  #10  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 84
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

I was at the Ft. Lauderdale boat show yesterday.

Software version 1.11 is out, however it will not be available to users till around the 15th of November. Furuno had it installed on a MFD12 at their booth. The reason for the delay is that they don't want to release it until they are sure that it is bug free. It would appear that it fixes all the issues that have been posted on this forum including the following.

1. The boat icon has been reduced to an appropriate size.

2. Waypoints can be entered without the system rebooting.

Also the new Florida and Bahamas charts will be released on about the same date.

The guy I talked to for abouit 30 minutes was extremely knowledgeable and knew everything about Navnet 3D. He was willing to talk to me as long as I wanted and I believe he was and is commited to making Navnet 3D the best system available.

The one issue they can't fix is the complaint that the rotorkey in not intuitive when you turn it left or right. It seems to go the wrong direction to us. The reason is that the rotorkey is the same as the scroll key on a mouse. If they change it, then they mouse scroll button will be reversed.

The bottom line for me is that I was impressed and all of my angst and frustration was totally alleviated.
Netma is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:48 PM
  #12  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 84
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

Got it.
Thanks for the notification.
Netma is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 06:47 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 587
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

Netma - 10/31/2008 9:12 PM

2. Waypoints can be entered without the system rebooting.
Woohoo!!!

Netma - 10/31/2008 9:12 PM

The one issue they can't fix is the complaint that the rotorkey in not intuitive when you turn it left or right. It seems to go the wrong direction to us.
Actually if anyone from Furuno is reading, I do have a simple solution.

The key point here is to remember when you rotate the knob, the on-screen labels rotate *with* the knob.

It does feel funny the way it is now - and the problem is exacerbated when you only have a couple of options displayed on the screen. When you have a lot of options displayed, it makes more sense, and sometimes you turn it the right way.

The answer is to have a round disc displayed under the labels and with the centre of the displayed disc centred on the knob.

Your brain will visually associate the disc with the knob, and you automatically turn the knob the right way. Sort of like those funky oscilloscopes you had in grade 12 physics, when the knob had a hard clear plastic disc mounted behind it and with all the options printed on the disc.

If you try and visualise a disc when you operate the knob - even as it is now - it works.

When the labels turn off, the disc turns off with it.

If anyone from Furuno wants more explanation, PM me.
Red_Tag is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 07:00 PM
  #14  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 19
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

It does seem backwards at first, but once you use it for awhile you get used to it... Atleast I did.
Miller25 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 05:06 AM
  #15  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 84
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

I couldn't get the link posted above to work to download 1.11. I think it's because Furuno makes you accept the terms and conditions. I went to their site, accepted the terms and then downloaded the update with no problem.
Netma is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 10:21 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location:
Posts: 181
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

i have 2 MFD 12 units and the Furuno hub. Furuno dff and open array radar.

recently had to return 1 unit to furuno for repair. installer gave me a loaner mfd 12 which worked fine on the network. the repaired unit was returned and reinstalled, the loaner removed.

i installed the software update 1.11 today.

now the 2 units are no longer networking. the 1st unit can get the radar/ff/gps.. the 2nd unit only the gps..

a few times i got the message "interference with ip # or something. local network disabled".

when i installed the update 1.11 i disconnected the blue ethernet cable and installed the software on both units. the port unit has master dhcp on. the stbd unit has it off.

what's wrong?
snapper4 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 10:23 AM
  #17  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

did you turn off the master dhcp setting before you did the update?

edit: nevermind, that is only required for black box mfd's.

did you try re-running the configuration wizard?
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:38 PM
  #18  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,540
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

I was just downloading the 1.11 and when I unzipped the file it was larger than what Furuno stated in their download sheet. The file I had once unzipped was NK080927 and is 40.3 mb in size. Does that sound right?
PSW is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 03:54 PM
  #19  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

40.3 is the correct size.
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 03:56 PM
  #20  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 84
Default RE: Furuno NavNet 3D Version 1.11

That's the same size file I got. Remember the file you downloaded was 28.4 MB and was a zip file. When you click on it, it unzips and creates 11 files.

Netma is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread