Notices

Lowrance BBS1 with a 1kw ducer????

Old 10-15-2008, 05:33 AM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 957
Default Lowrance BBS1 with a 1kw ducer????

Hey guys, i currently have the LCX27C with the Broad Band Sounder 1 module hooked up to a AIRMAR bronze thru hull low profile... I'm pretty sure it's a B117, but it's not in front of me right now... i know it's a 600watt ducer... the Lowrance is capable of handling a 1KW transducer, but with a Broad Band Sounder , will having a 1kw ducer be at all that much better, since the BBS1 is supposed to work at 250watts or something like that? I'm trying to get a clearer picture, so, different ducer seems like the thing to do, but unsure if i'd be wasting my money... thanks for your time... all inputs welcome!
navyaircrew is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 07:22 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: Lowrance BBS1 with a 1kw ducer????

TCM - what in-hull 'ducer are you using with your install?

Regarding the question as to using a 1 KW 'ducer. I'm not sure that you will see much (if any) definition difference in water depths less than 500' or so. If your getting weak return signal then maybe, but a 600 watt ducer is capable of providing good detail at medium depths. Remember it is the FF brain that determines how it is painted and the ability to distinguish clutter from real markings. Real-world example of this happens every day, where people switch an existing FF with a new one and use the same transducer and seen noticeable improvements in markings.
dowop is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 07:53 AM
  #3  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 957
Default Re: Lowrance BBS1 with a 1kw ducer????

well, i am mainly my fish finder for this:

1. Trolling along the ledges (say around 150' to 500' of water) for wahoo when the season is right
2. At buoys in about 250' of water to catch bait fish that are usually around 60' to 120' of water
3. Slow trolling at about 5 knots near the offshore FAD buoys to see if the TUNA are down deep, at around 150' to 300'

The little raymarine i had would amaze me... DS500x... using only the T/M 50/200khz ducer it came with .... so , with lowrance coming out with their BBS1, i just had to have it cause i thought it would be a clearer picture... i just haven't found that to be the case yet... so, more tweeking to do, but before i get more expensive, i'm asking around...
navyaircrew is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 07:54 AM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 957
Default Re: Lowrance BBS1 with a 1kw ducer????

well, i am mainly my fish finder for this:1. Trolling along the ledges (say around 150' to 500' of water) for wahoo when the season is right2. At buoys in about 250' of water to catch bait fish that are usually around 60' to 120' of water3. Slow trolling at about 5 knots near the offshore FAD buoys to see if the TUNA are down deep, at around 150' to 300' The little raymarine i had would amaze me... DS500x... using only the T/M 50/200khz ducer it came with .... so , with lowrance coming out with their BBS1, i just had to have it cause i thought it would be a clearer picture... i just haven't found that to be the case yet... so, more tweeking to do, but before i get more expensive, i'm asking around...
navyaircrew is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 08:35 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: Lowrance BBS1 with a 1kw ducer????

tcm - 10/15/2008 10:46 AM

dowop - 10/15/2008 10:22 PM

TCM - what in-hull 'ducer are you using with your install?

.
It's a tiny Lowrance. Given to me my a friend who said a setup like this would never work. It works very well.
Not the only transducer I have on my boat but I like to use it and show people the results of such a small,
inexpensive transducer. The deepest I ever get is around 150'. Mostly stay in 50' or less.
All it cost me was a tube of epoxy.
Is it this little guy?



I've used this little trolling motor (in-hull) one with great success in a few of my past hulls and use it in my Yak as well.
dowop is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread