Notices

C120 Blinks On and Off

Old 10-12-2008, 01:24 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 107
Default C120 Blinks On and Off

I was out this weekend and my C120 was operating normally. I slowed down to anchor, and the C120 shut off. It doesn't usually do that, but it has happened once or twice before. In any event, before I could push the power button to restart it, the C120 powered up on its own, the Raymarine "welcome" screen came on and then the screen changed to the black screen with the cursor in the middle as it normally would while loading the data from the radar, GPS and DSM. Except this time, instead of loading the data, it went back to the welcome screen, then back to the black screen, and it repeated this over and over. I tried to shut it down, but the power button didn't do anything. I shut off the batteries and then turned them back on, but the result was the same. I then disconnected the unit and reconnected it, but again it was the same result.

Any ideas what is wrong with it?
BroadCove is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:09 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: C120 Blinks On and Off

what's your resting voltage? - (meaning engines not running)
Glen E is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:28 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 107
Default Re: C120 Blinks On and Off

Glen - Great question. I was wondering if it might be the power supply. I'll check the next time I'm at the boat (hopefully tomorrow).
BroadCove is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 06:26 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 33
Default RE: C120 Blinks On and Off

I have the same problem. I contacted raymarine and was told to go to their website and upgrade the software. I tried that but found that you have to register the product and i am not the original owner so i will have to call back tomorrow.

Let me know if you found a resolution.
searage is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 06:35 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: C120 Blinks On and Off

Many display components - esp big chartplotters = are suseptible to voltage fluctuation - after all, they are a computer...and just like your home computer they need clean interrupted poser. Check to see that your components are not cnnnected to directly or indirectly, the engine battery - not the way - the elelctronics bus/fuse block should be going to a big, fully charged independant house battery.
Glen E is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread