Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Connect Garmin marine network to PC

Old 10-12-2008, 02:36 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location:
Posts: 2
Default Connect Garmin marine network to PC

I'm new here, but can see you guys are great...

I'm just trying to do something. I have alaptop with garmin cards, used for marine navigation (nRoute software and BlueChart Atlantic V9.5), and that's working great.
I also have GPSMAP60CSX which I'm using as antenna (taking it off the boat with me), but plan to upgrade (or to degrade when you look at the other antennas specs) to some USB antenna.

Now i'd like to try to connect garmin GSD22 fishfinder black box to laptop, somehow. Is there any way of doing that? maybe some interface aor adapter to connect marine network or data cable to USB or whatever else?

Your opinions appreciated.

Also, is there any other fishfinder (a good one, of course) that I can use for this?

THX
amiklic1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:56 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: Connect Garmin marine network to PC

I'm not aware of any way to display fishfinder data from a black box on a PC. You can get the depth reading and temperature from some transducers as numbers via NMEA 0183, but no video. With Garmin's 4000/5000 series, you can display what you see on the Garmin screen on another display (PC or TV) but you can't control it from a PC; what you see on the garmin is what you get on the PC.

Are you just trying to cut down on the mare's nest of wires?
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:06 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: Connect Garmin marine network to PC

What a great idea that would be!! Install a 24" wide screen, a rubberized keyboard and mouse or track ball. Get one of those cappuccino micro PC's that are about 5"x5"x2" and you would be set. If you really wanted to get crazy with the system, go touch screen on the monitor. If anybody did come out with the ability to network and manage a marine network via a PC that would brilliant!
slief is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:14 AM
  #4  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: Connect Garmin marine network to PC

slief - 10/12/2008 11:06 AM

What a great idea that would be!! Install a 24" wide screen, a rubberized keyboard and mouse or track ball. Get one of those cappuccino micro PC's that are about 5"x5"x2" and you would be set. If you really wanted to get crazy with the system, go touch screen on the monitor. If anybody did come out with the ability to network and manage a marine network via a PC that would brilliant!
Maxsea is available for Navnet vx2. you can overlay radar and open up a window that will show you the network sounder. you can use this sounder data to create your own bathymetric data.

it also uses any chart cards that are inserted into your navnets.

Duct Tape is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 12:28 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location:
Posts: 2
Default RE: Connect Garmin marine network to PC

I'm currently using nRoute with BlueChartAtlantic 9.5, and it's great. Better than I need.

There are some sounders like CrzPro (http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~bvdb/pcff80.html), it's around 1200 US$ here http://nautic-shop.cvs.hr/item_details.php?id=700 in Croatia (my country)...

I could find it cheaper outside HR, for sure...

Also, there is Nobeltec solution (I found these after some googling....) http://www.nobeltec.com/products/prod_sounder.asp
and the price on http://www.nauticomp.net/pl/Nobeltec...t%20031006.pdf is 1075 EUR PLUS the transducer from 80 to 900 EUR...
amiklic1 is offline  
Old 05-13-2015, 01:46 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Originally Posted by sandyda View Post
<snip> With Garmin's 4000/5000 series, you can display what you see on the Garmin screen on another display (PC or TV) but you can't control it from a PC; what you see on the garmin is what you get on the PC.
<snip>
?
How? I can't find any indication of this in the manual.

Ah, I found it in the Install manual, the PC Monitor Video Output connection (not mentioned in Owners manual)

- Rusty
rgesner is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread