Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

Notices

DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

Old 10-11-2008, 10:16 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CHESTER NS
Posts: 2,752
Default DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

I have a Furuno networked system (with hub) with two 10 inch 1920C (RDP 149) displays. I just bought a Sharp Aquos LCD TV and want to know exactly what I will need to repeat info from the furuno system to the TV below.

Thanks
offshore27ns is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 04:55 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

You need the Furuno NTSC/PAL interface kit.. Ait will give you a 15 pin D-Sub connection which is what you need for your TV's. See section 4-2 of this manual:
http://www.furunousa.com/Furuno/Doc/...430E%20vx2.pdf

Here the kit info

Name: RGB output cable kit
Type: OP03-176
Code No.: 008-526-360

Includes the following:
Name Type Code No. Qty
Cable assy. 15SDS/XHP10-005 000-144-511 1
Grommet MG-4 000-871-378 1
slief is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 10:04 PM
  #3  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW


That is going to be a long cable run. Thought about it myself. If you go the long way it is tough to run cable from salon rear stbd panel to the TV. I did it with my Bose sub and it was a pain. Easiest run would be to go forward on the bridge and put a hole going through to the area behind the TV. Measure twice before drilling on that one. Let me know what you decide. The Navnet 3D has an output right on the back and you just need the cable. Let me know how it goes.
PSW is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:50 AM
  #4  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

you may want to make sure that the tv has a VGA connector on it first. otherwise you will need an adapter that converts VGA to composite, which in my opinion, will degrade the video signal to the point where its not worth the trouble.

Duct Tape is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:14 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

Duct Tape - 10/12/2008 8:50 AM

you may want to make sure that the tv has a VGA connector on it first. otherwise you will need an adapter that converts VGA to composite, which in my opinion, will degrade the video signal to the point where its not worth the trouble.
Or, jsut go to Costco and pick up a new Vizio LCD TV of the size that fits best. They have SVGA, VGA, HDMI inputs....
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 06:24 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CHESTER NS
Posts: 2,752
Default Re: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

Birdman - 10/12/2008 9:14 PM

Duct Tape - 10/12/2008 8:50 AM

you may want to make sure that the tv has a VGA connector on it first. otherwise you will need an adapter that converts VGA to composite, which in my opinion, will degrade the video signal to the point where its not worth the trouble.
Or, jsut go to Costco and pick up a new Vizio LCD TV of the size that fits best. They have SVGA, VGA, HDMI inputs....

The TV I purchased should work...I am pretty sure it has a VGA (RGB) input. The TV is a SHARP Aquos LC-26SB14U
offshore27ns is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:54 PM
  #7  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

No TV on the market fits better than the Sharp Offshore bought. It is perfect and Offshore you will love it.
PSW is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 04:48 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CHESTER NS
Posts: 2,752
Default RE: DISPLAYING DATA FROM ELECTRONICS ON BRIDGE TO LCD TV BELOW

PSW - 10/13/2008 6:54 PM

No TV on the market fits better than the Sharp Offshore bought. It is perfect and Offshore you will love it.
I know it will work out well....I had good advice on this thanks PSW
offshore27ns is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread