Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

Notices

Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

Old 10-09-2008, 04:50 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: fishin out of destin
Posts: 64
Default Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

Hi all,

Finally got my new rig will be playing with the install of electronics tomorrow just thought id suss out if i have it right since its all pretty new to me.

Items able to connect to each other:

Garmin 4008 connected to gps 17x via nmea 2000

Items connected to 4008 on nmea 0183:

Furuno fcv-620(send and receive from 4008)?
Lowrance lvr-880 (send and receive connected to 4008)?
Yamaha fuel management (receive only for gps speed from 4008)?

Does this sound allright i mean some may say not to bother connected each item together but they have the feature so i may aswell take advantage of it.

To get all the instruments in the engine stats page on the 4008 to show data is there another cable needed or do i just hooked up the fuel managment as send and receive?

Cheers
Bandit
Bandit1 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 07:41 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 332
Default Re: Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

yamaha does not have 0183 in and out it is in only to do the info on the 4008 you have to use nmea 2000 setup
woolyt2 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 08:47 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: fishin out of destin
Posts: 64
Default Re: Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

hi there,

I guess the nmea 2000 setup is the one that requires some adapter and run wires from the motor? so what does the in do? give u the gps speed on the yamaha instrument?

Cheers
Bandit
Bandit1 is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 07:58 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 332
Default Re: Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

no you do not have to run wiring to the motor it is all at the yamaha bus , you do have commandlink right , with the 2000 setup no need to use 0183 it will all be taken care of
woolyt2 is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 01:16 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: fishin out of destin
Posts: 64
Default Re: Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

Hi mate, yea im pretty sure i have command link, is that the just having the instruments with fuel managment, tacho and speedo? its a 2006 hpdi 200hp. if so what do i need to plug the command link into my nmea 2000 backbone?


Cheers
Dwayne
Bandit1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:17 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: fishin out of destin
Posts: 64
Default Re: Electronics install nmea connections sound right?

hmm ok seems like my instruments are not command link instruments, however my motor is so i gather i need a rather long engine interface cable to go from the plug in the motor upto my gps,, i think by some reading that i can use the lowrance product for this if they have one long enough that is,, as it seems cheaper then the other products out there for this. However would i still get all the other info displayed to my gauges aswell since they are not on the command link connection i should hey?

Cheers
Bandit
Bandit1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread