Notices

Furuno 600L problem

Old 04-21-2003, 07:08 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location:
Posts: 19
Default Furuno 600L problem

Brand new unit with a transom mounted transducer. Used it for he first time yeserday. It's reading the bottom OK but there's a 1 1/2 inch wavy band of color from the top down. From there the screen is blue then the colored bottom structure is dispayed. It doesn't make a difference if the boat is running or dead in the water. I had the manual and tried different adjustments while driftng/running in 20 to 60 feet of water. I hope there's something I'm missing and someone can help.
walterg is offline  
Old 04-21-2003, 07:50 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 303
Default Furuno 600L problem

Read your manual I just purchased one and I believe it says something about that line being caused by electrical interference. May have to check your connections.
rsschoe is offline  
Old 04-22-2003, 08:00 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeland, FL Scout 185SF
Posts: 422
Default Furuno 600L problem

Turn down the gain on your 600L.

I can get the same reading if, let's say, I'm in 20 ft of water and the gain is up to 3.5 or so.

If you run the unit in the manual mode, you'll have to get used to tweaking the setting of the unit as water conditions and depth change.

BTW, I don't recommend the automatic mode. It might be good for some, but hardcore anglers will want to control their own settings for the best picture of what's down there.
work2fish is offline  
Old 04-30-2003, 08:58 AM
  #4  
RMB
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Miami,Fl,USA
Posts: 37
Default Furuno 600L problem

I have the same unit and notice the same thing. After, having a long conversation with Furuno they informed me that is perfectly normal to have a thick "zero line". In other words, to "loose" the first few feet of depth range scale to this phenomena. It is called surface noise interference(so they say). However, you may do a few things to make it better:
1.- Make sure you are using the correct frequency 200khz for shallow and 50khz for deep water.
2.- Adjust the TVG setting in your unit. This one gets tricky since if you overadjust it you will not see small signal echoes on your screen.
3.- Use a higher range scale. You'll notice that the "Zero Line" thickness is proportional to the scale, the higher the range scale the thinner the zero line becomes.
4.- Adjust clutter control (read manual). Personnaly, I have not messed around with that one yet.

I am still familiarizing with the features of this unit but so far I like it a lot.I hope this clear a few things out for you and good luck.
RMB is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread