Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

Old 10-06-2008, 07:32 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,510
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

My Garmin 498 depth just starts blinking and it drives me crazy! I try changing the depth scale, turning it on and off etc... I love the unit - the plotter, tides and all the other features work great but when you nuzzle up to a rock jetty you want to know where the bottom is located. Anyone else have this problem?

Thanks
Old 10-06-2008, 09:03 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

Was it working OK before?
If dual frequencies, lower frequencies easily loose ground, so maybe switch to 200khz. Sudden changes of depths also sometimes drives my sounder crazy.
Old 10-07-2008, 05:52 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
pbr streetgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nowhere near Uranus
Posts: 7,130
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

What version software are you running on the 498 ? I had the same exact problem which was very frustrating. The upgrade to v3.30 corrected it.

http://www8.garmin.com/support/downl...s.jsp?id=1409#

On edit, you will need the garmin 32MB card and usb card programmer to upgrade your 498. You can get them both at BOE Marine for about $80 delivered.

Once you upgrade switch all your sonar settings over to auto (i.e. if you have a dual freq transducer set it to auto, auto gain, auto depth, etc.) toggle the settings with the rocker switch while the sonar screen is displayed (right above the depth readout)

Old 10-07-2008, 05:59 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location:
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

I have a 498 that was doing the exact same thing. I fish in shallow water with a soft bottom and in anything less than 3 ft. it would give me no reading. If you go to the Sonar tab in the menu, you can adjust the gain down. My unit came with the Automatic setting selected. Changing this fixed my problems, and now it reads perfectly.
Old 10-07-2008, 06:06 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
pbr streetgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nowhere near Uranus
Posts: 7,130
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?


just wondering what version you are running tolarjm. my unit reads down to 1' in auto.

Btw, after this season I'm scrapping the transom mount transducer and going with an Airmar B60 thru hull.

Old 10-07-2008, 03:01 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,510
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

Thanks guys for the tips, how do I determine the version number? I do adjust the gain to try to get some clarity of my sonar targets. I bought my 498 the day it was available and no updates have been done to it.

Thanks again. Some days it's fine then other days it's a PIA.
Old 10-07-2008, 03:19 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
pbr streetgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nowhere near Uranus
Posts: 7,130
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?



You can find out what version when it boots up and also in the menu screen under "system" there is a button labeled "system information"

the symptoms you describe are exactly what i was experiencing. I can almost guarantee the upgrade will solve your problem.

Old 10-07-2008, 03:45 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,510
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Grrrrrr, why oh why does my depth readout BLINK?

Thanks PBR, looks like upgrading the software is the way to go...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.