Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

Old 10-06-2008, 01:00 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,727
Default MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

The Lowrance VHF with DSC was programmed by the installer and it was a "one-time" deal; no second chances and no re-sets, according to the Users' Manual.

I sold the radio and needed to know how much it would cost to send the radio back to Lowrance to re-set it. The technician I spoke with gave me a lot more than the address and an RA; he gave me the simple fix for the Lowrance brand of radios....maybe others?

with the Radio OFF, press the Memory and Scan buttons and hold them while you turn the radio ON.

you're done.

There's no bother with having a radio that has somebody else's ID info and, worse, that would have to be gone to the factory for who knows how long. It's as if the radio is being programmed for the first time.

NOTE: you need to cancel your MMSI number or you need to transfer it to your new boat/radio and then change the boatus.com registration information. In this way the MMSI can follow you from boat to boat.
bamaboy473 is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:38 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,727
Default Re: MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

as promised!
bamaboy473 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:13 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default Re: MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

Does anyone know how to do it on the ICOM M602?
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 06:25 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,727
Default Re: MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

PM Birdman. He has an ICOM and has done it several times to a radio that supposedly had a 3-times-and-yer-out limit.
bamaboy473 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 07:32 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: landlocked in New Mexico
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

bamaboy473, thanks for the info, since I have the same unit. Why did you sell it anyway?


I have tested this radio a couple of times in the past thre years and it has performed at full power with no problems for me.



Steve
jenkinsph is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 09:22 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

I have not "reset" an icom per say, but I have programmed an M502 radio with a different MMSI # about 6 times. It never locked on me. I wonder if they ever lock as per the manual??? But, if I recall correctly, I was also able to set it to all 0's. Not 100% sure though, that was a few years ago, and at this point, I couldn't tell you what I had for lunch yesterday!!!

I still haven't figurd out WHY the industry makes the programming of the MMSI # limited in # of times?? Doesn't make any sense to me.
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 09:34 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,727
Default Re: MMSI re-set on radio IS POSSIBLE at home!

hate to say it, but I wonder whether each manufacturer has their own proprietary methods. With this Lowrance it was definitely a OneTime deal. Trying to start a new number (all zeroes) didn't get anywhere; hence the call to Lowrance to see what the reset process would entail.
With ICOM it seems to be whatever you want to do. With Lowrance it's the re-set procedure that's a 5-second deal. When I asked the tech why they didn't put the re-set process into the Owner's Manual, he of course didn't have an official answer; it was more like what Birdman is saying; they don't want the USCG chasing boats that don't match the MMSI registration to a different boat.

He suggested to me that I contact the USCG and ask them what to do about transferring my old number to my new boat. I thought that changing the info on the boatUS.com site would do all of that. He wasn't so sure.

Several weeks later I still haven't contacted them, but I have changed the information in the boatus site.
bamaboy473 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread