Notices

Radar Question

Old 10-06-2008, 03:08 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 975
Default Radar Question

Recently bought a 23 open Contender, came with a Furuno 1650 GPS/ Depth finder combo. I know that I can't hook up a radar to this combo, but wondering if a small dome with a display would work for me? Does the dome have to be free of any obstructions on the t-top, such as antennas or lights, will this affect the display? Also, would it be better if I just replace the GPS I have now with one that can display the radar as well as the GPS? Looking for the most bang for my buck. Will only be using radar to run the Mississippi during Tuna season, and some night trips during the summer, so not a must have, more for piece of mind. Thanks.
BakermanJr is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:18 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: Radar Question

Not being a radar expert and just recently getting a furuno radome, yes, they can be near metal objects (although not recommended, how else can it be for most of us), and yes it slightly affects readings in the direction of the object. You can also disactivate the radar on some portions of its radiating path.
XV2PS is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:29 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
pbr streetgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nowhere near Uranus
Posts: 7,130
Default RE: Radar Question


You may be able to read radar data off the GPS if you get a Furuno radar. I have the 1623 Radar and the optional data cable (nmea0183) and it shares data with my Garmin 498 GPS. You have to break out your GPS manual (or download it) and read up on it to see what it will do or hopefully somebody with more knowledge will chime in.

pbr streetgang is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 09:41 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Default RE: Radar Question

pbr streetgang - 10/6/2008 4:29 AM You may be able to read radar data off the GPS if you get a Furuno radar. I have the 1623 Radar and the optional data cable (nmea0183) and it shares data with my Garmin 498 GPS. You have to break out your GPS manual (or download it) and read up on it to see what it will do or hopefully somebody with more knowledge will chime in.
Using NMEA to share data between radar and GPS is more to display nav data on the radar screen. No radar info is sharedvia NMEA.

To the OP something like a Furuno 1623 or 1715 will be fine for collision avoidance. IMO radar is not optional for running at night especially in an area with commercial traffic.
sickcat is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:04 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: Radar Question

If I am right, you can report targets from Furuno radar to your plotter. Otherwise, having GPS info taking radar screen space does not sound interesting to me.
XV2PS is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:17 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Radar Question

XV2PS - 10/6/2008 10:04 PM If I am right, you can report targets from Furuno radar to your plotter. Otherwise, having GPS info taking radar screen space does not sound interesting to me.
IIRC you canmark a waypoint from the radar to GPS. Personally I have never found that function of much use. If you don't have AIS then having a lat/lon of the cursor on your radar screen enables you to hail a vessel using their location which is a function I have found useful.
sickcat is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:40 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
pbr streetgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nowhere near Uranus
Posts: 7,130
Default Re: Radar Question

What I find useful is having my destination waypoint marked on my radar screen when in xmit . helps keep on course.

I also like when the radar is in standby mode (99% of the time) having my speed, depth, surface temp and course displayed on the screen instead of blank fields.

I agree with XV2PS that I'm not interested in anything other than radar data on my screen when in xmit mode.

I would like to see my radar targets displayed on my gps screen but I don't believe thats possible with my setup (Garmin/Furuno).




pbr streetgang is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 03:45 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 260
Default Re: Radar Question

You'll find you can navigate just fine with a standalone radar, but of course it doesn't mean you can run 50 mph in the dark and not risk hitting UFO's (Unidentified Floating Objects).

Feeding nmea to a radar will allow most radars to display current waypoint on the radar, which is useful.

My radar overlays on a map (Furuno 1944) and I thought it would be useful at night because the channel markers match up nicely. What I learned is the contrast was too damn difficult to get my eyes adjusted to. So I navigate via another GPS in night mode and Furuno in radar, dark background mode. Radar helps collision avoidance, GPS for nav. Pretty straight forward.

Hopefully that will give you the straight poop and not have to spend your way into a capability that might not be what you're looking for.
Mr.Chummer is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:43 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,186
Default Re: Radar Question

I also use separate radar and GPS chart plotter displays. I have been using Radar for over 30 years, so am used to mentally overlaying. I want as much screen as possiable for the radar and chart plotter. In my case I have 7" displays for each and it works well for me.

I have a lot of experience running at night, and find that radar is very helpful. I have been waiting for AIS B being available before taking that leap. But AIS is certainly going to be very helpful. The problem is that boats which you might not see on radar, are not likely to have AIS either.

In the Gulf, a Furuno 1715 would do you very well, and be cheaper than upgrading the current chart plotter.
thataway is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:20 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: Radar Question

Take care not to overload your electrical system.
sandyda is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread