Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

4 channel amp for sub

Old 10-04-2008, 09:40 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lafayette La
Posts: 3,583
Default 4 channel amp for sub

Was wondering if any of you guys could tell me if I can use my 4 channel clarion amp to power a single JL sub. I would probably just bridge all the power together for the one sub. Any thoughts?? Would it sound ok?? Thanks
bigtuna is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:26 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 170
Default RE: 4 channel amp for sub

You would need a Dual coil sub to do that but yes you can. They are pretty pricey though.
Basically the sub has two sets of power inputs and you would bridge the amp into two channels and run both channels to the sub.
But for what you would have to spend to buy the Sub, why would you want to hook it up with that Clarion amp? That's kinda like putting a 4 cylinder Chevy motor in a Lamborghini.
I doubt that Clarion has enough power to even drive a Sub like that. Why don't you just buy a Mono Amp with 400W or better and use a single coil sub like a JL Audio?
energinerbuzzy is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:29 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 170
Default RE: 4 channel amp for sub

Opps, I guess I should have read the question better.

NO, you can not use that amp with all 4 channels to run that JL sub. Assuming it is the 10" single coil.
You can bridge two channels and run it, but not all 4 unless you get a dual coil sub.
energinerbuzzy is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 05:36 AM
  #4  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: 4 channel amp for sub

energinerbuzzy - 10/4/2008 2:26 PM

You would need a Dual coil sub to do that but yes you can. They are pretty pricey though.
Basically the sub has two sets of power inputs and you would bridge the amp into two channels and run both channels to the sub.
But for what you would have to spend to buy the Sub, why would you want to hook it up with that Clarion amp? That's kinda like putting a 4 cylinder Chevy motor in a Lamborghini.
I doubt that Clarion has enough power to even drive a Sub like that. Why don't you just buy a Mono Amp with 400W or better and use a single coil sub like a JL Audio?
while you are correct, it could be wired that way, its not a good idea. for a dual voice coil sub, you need to make sure that you are getting equal amounts of power into each set of voice coils. you ususally wire them in either a series, or parallel configuration, then connect it to the amp. if you wired one set to 1 channel, and the other set to the other channel, you take a big chance of not having equal amounts of power into each voice coil. the only way to properly setup a system like that, would be to use an oscilloscope to adjust the amp's gains so that each channel has exactly the same amount of power. most people dont own an o-scope as they tend to be pretty expensive. if its not setup properly, you can damage the sub.
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 08:21 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lafayette La
Posts: 3,583
Default Re: 4 channel amp for sub

thanks for the info guys. Really sounds like to do it properly I should get a sub amp. I will probably just go with the jl a
amp. Thanks again!
bigtuna is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 09:50 AM
  #6  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: 4 channel amp for sub

bigtuna - 10/5/2008 11:21 AM

thanks for the info guys. Really sounds like to do it properly I should get a sub amp. I will probably just go with the jl a
amp. Thanks again!
depending on how much power your current amp provides when bridged, you could still use that amp. what is the model of the 4 channel amp? is your JL sub one of the marine models? or is it a different model?
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 04:50 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 865
Default Re: 4 channel amp for sub

Like duct tape stated:

You can bridge any four channel amp to two channels, with that sub you would only be able to use one of the two bridged channels. Since you already have the amp you should try it to see if you like the sound. You may be happy with the output, not every one wants to be blown out of their boat.

If money is not an issue then go with the mono amp, The JL audio M1700 will give you 250W RMS at 12.5v into 4 ohms (AKA your one subwoofer) or if you like to get blown out your boat add another sub and get 500W RMS into 2 ohms ( 2- 4 ohm subs in Parallel)

Good Luck



Nick





Duct Tape - 10/5/2008 12:50 PM
bigtuna - 10/5/2008 11:21 AMthanks for the info guys. Really sounds like to do it properly I should get a sub amp. I will probably just go with the jl aamp. Thanks again!
depending on how much power your current amp provides when bridged, you could still use that amp. what is the model of the 4 channel amp? is your JL sub one of the marine models? or is it a different model?
bignick1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread