Notices

What to use to cut hole for gps?

Old 10-03-2008, 06:39 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default What to use to cut hole for gps?

What is the safest and easiest way to cut a hole for a gps unit? Should I use a Dremel? All advise would be helpful

thanks!!!
homesite is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:11 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 111
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

If you are cutting through fibreglass use a dremel, just make sure you know what is behind where you are cutting, you dont want to cut through wires etc.
Two Up is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:15 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

What bit would you use with the dremel?
homesite is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:22 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Carrabelle, Fla
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

A drywall bit will work just fine!
potty dock is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:29 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

This is not a job for the inexperienced...call Electronics Unlimited in Ft laud and get it done right....Ask for Sean....
Glen E is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:37 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Thanks!
homesite is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:10 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 72
Default RE: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Jig saw - If you don't have one you can buy one at harbor freight for little or nothing. Make sure you put masking tape on the bottom before you cut. You would hate to mar up your dash. The job is easy. Most GPS manf give you an outline that you can follow.
CSY44_Sailboat is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:14 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 159
Default RE: What to use to cut hole for gps?

A key hole saw from Home Depot and a large drill bit for the corners of the GPS
narrab is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:29 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

I like the key hole saw idea. anything power is taking a risk.
homesite is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 05:21 AM
  #10  
Conkyjoe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Email Sam at sgfabrications@bellsouth.net
I just had the same thing done to my CC. Sam made a black starboard dashboard for a custom mount of Garmin 4208, VHF and stereo receiver. Quality work from Stuart, FL.
I'll send a pic if you email me.
 
Old 10-04-2008, 07:45 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 151
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

I have a roto zip cutting tool from Sears, that uses bits like drill bits with cutting edges on the sides..Looks like a giant Dremel...Have used it to cut several cutouts...Cuts thru 3/8inch glass like butter, does not try to wander...just this week cut a cutout for flush mounting vhf, worked great...not to expensive and one of those tools thhat you look at and say I am glad I got it..
rebel112r is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:51 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Check inside first. Make sure you have room behind the unit for the cables, which can be pretty stiff. Then apply a light coat of repositionable spray glue (like post-it notes) to stick down the paper template. Roto-zip the opening, with vacuum attachment. Wear a face mask and goggles. Finish with a sureform rasp and 80 grit 0n a palm sander. Paint the raw edges with two-part epoxy glue. Be sure to leave enough meat for the attachment screws!

There is a 90 degree attachment that turns the rotozip into a small circular saw. This makes smooth cuts very easily, and you can set the depth of the cut fairly acurately. It also makes less dust, which will be EVERYWHERE.
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:59 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Won't the key hole saw work OK?
homesite is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 08:00 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Should I use duck tape before cutting to make sure the gel does not chip
homesite is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 08:15 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 5,338
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

If using a hole saw run it backwards for a couple seconds to cut through the gel coat so it will not chip out, then run cut as normal.
MacCTD is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 08:50 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: landlocked in New Mexico
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

I agree with Glen E on this, have a pro do the job.

Homesite, this is a nce new boat you are getting and I am sure you wan't it to come out right. If you have to ask what tools
to use you should really consider whether you are up to this. Your new dash is an expensive place to 'learn how'.
To answer your question I would use a template with mask and taped on then make use a Rotozip with a downspiral bit. A
temporary adhesive spray for the template would be a plus.


Steve
jenkinsph is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 08:59 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

my point is if you are asking on a new 38 foot fountain how to cut a hole, probabaly the NMEA wiring to the smartcraft system, antenna fishing and routing, and the transducer routing and wiring is a bit beyond you...based on the other things you have asked here in the past, let a pro get it right....

you got it cheap off ebay from a non-authorized outlet, you got the money to install it right......
Glen E is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:29 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon, FL + Hudson, FL
Posts: 1,243
Default RE: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Dynamite always worked for me
frank1861 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:56 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

The wiring is easy.
the inhull transducer box is already installed.
homesite is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:59 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: What to use to cut hole for gps?

Why do you guys like a rotto over a dremel?

And it is not about the money, I like to do things myself.
homesite is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread