Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

garmin ethernet cable?

Old 10-02-2008, 05:35 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Received 31 Likes on 11 Posts
Default garmin ethernet cable?

This may be a stupid question but, is the garmin ethernet cable the same cable you use with a computer but, with waterproof connections? Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks ;?
Old 10-03-2008, 06:16 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: garmin ethernet cable?

pretty much except its a crossover cable rather than a straight patch cable
Old 10-03-2008, 06:54 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Received 31 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: garmin ethernet cable?

Whats the difference between a patch and crossover cable?
Thanks
Old 10-03-2008, 08:50 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: garmin ethernet cable?

the pin out is different
Old 10-03-2008, 10:45 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default RE: garmin ethernet cable?

gofishbentley - 10/3/2008 9:54 AM

Whats the difference between a patch and crossover cable?
Thanks
Two of the conductors are reversed. I don't remember which ones.

You can buy crossover cables at the same place you buy standard cables.
Old 10-05-2008, 06:33 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Received 31 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: garmin ethernet cable?

thanks everyone for the replies.
Old 10-09-2008, 07:39 AM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,196
Likes: 0
Received 297 Likes on 189 Posts
Default RE: garmin ethernet cable?

gofishbentley - 10/3/2008 9:54 AM

Whats the difference between a patch and crossover cable?
Thanks
You have two standards for Ethernet pin out TIA/EIA568A and B

If you want to build a regular Ethernet cable you do the same termination on both's ends. So you use either A or B on both ends.

On a cross over cable, you use A on one side and B on the other one.
Old 10-09-2008, 08:17 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Re: garmin ethernet cable?

As I recall (and it's been a few years), a standard cable is used to connect a computer to a router, switch, etc., but a crossover cable is needed to connect switches or routers to each other.

Most of us wouldn't be dealing with crossover cables unless we wanted to connect two computers to each other without a router or switch.
Old 10-11-2008, 03:17 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Received 31 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: garmin ethernet cable?

I tried a standard patch cable and a crossover cable, just to see if they would work. Neither one did. I also called Garmin and asked the same question. They said a standard ethernet cable should work but, it doesn't. I don't know what the difference is but, the cable they supply you with (marine network cable) is different. No issues here, just wondering what the difference was.
Thanks
Old 10-11-2008, 03:35 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,751
Received 803 Likes on 444 Posts
Default Re: garmin ethernet cable?

You must ground all Garmin items together if your using non garmin cables... They cannot be grounded to different buss bars...

John
Old 10-11-2008, 03:46 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Re: garmin ethernet cable?

jtburf - 10/11/2008 6:35 PM

You must ground all Garmin items together if your using non garmin cables... They cannot be grounded to different buss bars...

John
Aren't the different bus bars connected together?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.