Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

raymarine help

Old 09-29-2008, 03:19 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 358
Default raymarine help

i just purchased a raymarine 620 chartplotter and need to have a wirring diagram to wire it to the new 125 gps ant any help is ppreciated...dave
snakeeyes is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 07:47 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,365
Default Re: raymarine help

That installation is going to be a little tricky but doable. Anyway, you need to get power to the Raystar 125 since the 620 doesn't provide power on the Seatalk bus. I'd use power from the same fuse as the 620 so power doesn't feed through the Seatalk bus if the 620 fuse blows. You will also need a 3 wire, curved connector Seatalk cable with a connector on one end and bare wires on the other. You can cut a double connector cable in half to get to the wires inside. I'd leave enough cable on the other connector to use since you might need to make up another Seatalk cable in the future.

Connect the red and green wires together from the Ray 125, the user supplied power wire and the red wire the Seatalk cable together.

Connect the yellow Seatalk info wire from the Ray 125 to the yellow wire in the Seatalk cable.

Connect the brown and shield wires from the Ray 125 to the black/ground wire in the Seatalk cable.

Plug it in and you should be good to go.
HDRyder999 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 08:19 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Default Re: raymarine help

HDRyder nailed it, but there is one quirk if you are going the SeaTalk route. If the RC620 is the original, not the later RC620+ (it would say Plus up in the corner), one of the many shortcomings the unit had was that how your brought position data into the unit somewhat governed/limited how data could taken out if the unit. If you bring in data via SeaTalk, it can only export Seatalk, if it is brought in via nmea, it can only export nmea. It is irrelevant if the RC620/RS125 aren't going to be tied to anything else but themselves, but if you are feeding a radio or an autopilot and don't want to spend another $160 on a NMEA-Seatalk converter you might want to wire it is a nmea device, since the RS125 can (thankfully) go either way.
SeaSwirler23 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread