Notices

DSM Update?

Old 09-21-2008, 08:26 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default DSM Update?

Noticed the other day, there is a DSM Update on Raymarines site issued the end of August...Has anyone installed this yet? Doesn't say what the update does? Does anyone know?
NewLove is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 06:57 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: DSM Update?

You are right, says version 4.10 is available for both th C and E series but I can't find anywhere what the upgrade does for us. Even the word document inside the zip file doesn't tell us anything.

Anyone know what this upgrade does for us.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 01:56 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 332
Default Re: DSM Update?

have you updated your display ? from what i have seen you will get a new soft key set at the bottom that will
be 4 auto modes to use or you can still run in manual mode
woolyt2 is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 02:10 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: DSM Update?

The files are old.

My DSM acts up once in awhile and locks up. I haven't upgraded.
lookoutsailors is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 08:35 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,438
Default Re: DSM Update?

Lookoutsailors - why do you say they are old files when the update is dated August of 2008?
Team Ruby is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:54 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 8
Default Re: DSM Update?

I find it odd that:
autorun.dob is 2/21/2005
DSM300-APP.PKG is 4/26/2007
DSM300-BTLD.PKG is 5/3/2007
The Word document is 7/24/2008

and the software is now posted to the website. I did a search across the Raymarine website and could not fund a reference to DSM300 software updates and why.



lookoutsailors is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 12:57 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,438
Default Re: DSM Update?

This is what I found after Newlove's post.
http://www.raymarine.com/ProductDeta...1&PRODUCT=3045

Then click on downloads and updates.
Team Ruby is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:19 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 8
Default Re: DSM Update?

Agreed and if you look further into the zip file you will see the files listed above. My point is that nowhere else on the Raymarine site to include the customer support pages is there a reference to an update. Why do I need it? What does it do? Why are the files 18 months old?
lookoutsailors is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:26 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default Re: DSM Update?

Did nobody call Raymarine to ask them?

I just did and the tech I spoke with told me that the update helps smooth out the temperature readings. While I'm not having that problem myself, I guess there are some out there that have a problem with their temperature reading jumping around quite a bit and fairly quickly.

This update supposedly fixes that problem. I'm thinking that it will cause the unit to do more averaging of the data so that it remains more consistent. I'd love to hear from someone who's:

a) Having the problem, and
b) If this fix takes care of it.

Joe
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:12 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 400
Default Re: DSM Update?

Yes, I've been having this issue. As an example, the temp will read 60.4, 59.8, 60.2, 59.5, 60.3, etc all within a 30-60 second period even while sitting in the slip. I will download and install the update and report the findings.

TT
Tower Todd is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:47 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 864
Default Re: DSM Update?

Tower Todd:

I have not watched my gauge consistently, but your temp fluctuations seem reasonable. Your fluctuation is less than one degree. We are talking about a thermistor which probably has a tolerance of about 10% per actual temperature.

I guess my question is are you concerned about the amount of time the temp changes?

Nick
bignick1 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:47 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Niantic, CT.
Posts: 227
Default Re: DSM Update?

i have been getting a No data source reading at least once every trip and the way I correct it is to power the C80 down and shot off the two accessory switches, and then repower the unit. Then it works fine for the rest of the trip. It is a DSM -300. Doesn't the latest 4.29 version update fix any of these problems?
lawman133 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 06:37 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default Re: DSM Update?

shut off the two accessory switches, and then repower the unit.
What accessory switches are you talking about? I experience the same problems you are having....
NewLove is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 11:41 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: DSM Update?

NewLove - 9/24/2008 6:37 PM

shut off the two accessory switches, and then repower the unit.
What accessory switches are you talking about? I experience the same problems you are having....
You can put the DSM on a separate switch so you have the ability to turn it on or off. Otherwise, it's on when your chartplotter comes on.

Of all the problems I've heard about the DSM, fluctuating temps is not one of them and I don't seem to have that problem so probably will skip this update.

I was having problems with my DSM resetting often and I could not trace it to a power or wiring problem so I sent it back to Raymarine. The tech told me it looked fine and tested fine (well duh, I'm sure his bench doesn't move like a boat does) but he went ahead and soldered some of the internal connections on the main board and what do you know....no more resetting problems. So my advice is to send it back as long as it's within the 2 year warranty period and have them look at it....can't hurt anything except you have to pick a time when you think you might not need it for 2 weeks or so.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:06 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 8
Default Re: DSM Update?

My issue has been that the screen locks up and the depth reading on my Tri-Data counts up to 999 feet. Recycling power doesn't help.
lookoutsailors is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:15 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 400
Default Re: DSM Update?

bignick1 - 9/24/2008 1:47 PM

Tower Todd:

I have not watched my gauge consistently, but your temp fluctuations seem reasonable. Your fluctuation is less than one degree. We are talking about a thermistor which probably has a tolerance of about 10% per actual temperature.

I guess my question is are you concerned about the amount of time the temp changes?

Nick
Yes, It is virtually useless for finding a temp break while fishing. Other boats on my dock haven't been having this problem. It will be nice to finally get it fixed.

TT
Tower Todd is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:46 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Niantic, CT.
Posts: 227
Default Re: DSM Update?

My C70 is rigged to one of my access. switches on the boat. off the main power. Once i shut power to the unit after I shutthe C70 down, the DSM must reset and the sounder works again. Mystery? but works. I did not buy the unit new. It was installed in the boat i recently purchased.
lawman133 is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 08:13 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 864
Default Re: DSM Update?

Tower Todd - 9/25/2008 6:15 PM
bignick1 - 9/24/2008 1:47 PMTower Todd:I have not watched my gauge consistently, but your temp fluctuations seem reasonable. Your fluctuation is less than one degree. We are talking about a thermistor which probably has a tolerance of about 10% per actual temperature.I guess my question is are you concerned about the amount of time the temp changes?Nick
Yes, It is virtually useless for finding a temp break while fishing. Other boats on my dock haven't been having this problem. It will be nice to finally get it fixed.TT


I would try the update,but the small flucuations you mentioned should still allow you to see a 3-5 degree temperature break.

let us know how the update works out.
bignick1 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 01:37 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default RE: DSM Update?

Any update on this?
Anyone try the update yet?
NewLove is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:42 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 400
Default Re: DSM Update?

Sorry for the delay. I updated the DSM and the temp reading is much more stable now. I have only made one offshore trip since the upgrade. I can easily tell when crossing the temp break where before the upgrade we could never tell for sure. We would only know the temp was rising but could be sure, especially if it wasn't a "hard" break. I'm glad the problem was finally addressed and corrected by RM.

Todd
Tower Todd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread