Notices

garmin data cards & waypoint question

Old 12-11-2002, 10:30 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

is there any way to upload waypoints onto a blank garmin data card?

my reading of their system is that i can ONLY upload waypoints directly to the GPS unit (which in my case is a gps sounder 188c).

this is a bummer, as it seems to largely defeat purpose of having programmable data cards to begin with (as opposed to just built-in memory).

i downloaded, played with easyGPS, and that doesn't seem to help.

while i'm whining.....why can't garmin just use GENERIC secure digital cards, instead of their proprietary cards?

also, is the easyGPS system best way to transfer, move around waypoints between my garmin and magellen marine hand-held, too?

thanks everyone for reading this.
landlubber is offline  
Old 12-11-2002, 11:05 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

I may not understand the problem but there is a shareware program (freebee) called GPSU 4.04 that is pretty good for transferring things like waypoints from device to device. You will need the Garmin PC adapter and a similar adapter from your Magellan. Download the waypoints from the one GPS device to your PC. Connect the other GPS device to your PC and upload the waypoints. You can also selectively upload/download if you wish.
It worked fine for me in transferring waypoints from a 2006 to a 182.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 12-11-2002, 11:31 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

transferring waypoints from my PC to garmin unit is NOT the problem or issue.

i want to find a way to transfer these waypoints from my PC to the garmin PC data card.

hope this clarifies.

thanks.
landlubber is offline  
Old 12-11-2002, 11:35 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeland, FL Scout 185SF
Posts: 422
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

You'll need to purchase a Garmin PC/GPS adapter.

I have the Garmin 2010C and bought a Garmin adapter that connects my PC to the GPS via the serial port, and supplies power to the GPS. It uses the Garmin 18 pin connection on the back of the 2010C. I got mine at BPS Outdoor World for around $65.

I just took a look at the 188C owner's manual online and saw that you do have an 18 pin connector on the back of your machine. Now all you need to do is purchase the PC/AC adapter and purchase/download some appropriate software.

Any Boater's World, BPS Outdoor World, West Marine, etc will carry or order the PC/AC adapter for you.

When you connect your PC to the GPS and power up the GPS, you will have the ability to move your waypints to your PC, move waypoints saved on your PC to the GPS, backup data from the GPS to the PC, etc. All of these acitivites load and unload data from the memory module in a way that is transparent to you, the user.

Have fun

BTW, I heartily recommend purchasing the BlueChart CD and unlocking the charts to your home fishing area. It's an excellent addition to your machine.

[This message was edited by work2fish on 12-11-02 at 02:45 PM.]
work2fish is offline  
Old 12-11-2002, 12:05 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

Sorry landlubber, told you I didn't think I understood the problem. Maybe someone has the answer but if Garmin can't help, I don't think so.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 12-11-2002, 01:16 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 708
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

landlubber,

Just wondering, what exactly is the advantage to having your waypoints on a data card, rather than in the gps built in memory?

Cheers...Tyee.
Tyee 2 is offline  
Old 12-11-2002, 01:58 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

the reason i prefer to only deal with data card and data card programmer vs. plugging entire gps unit into computer:

1) as with digital cameras, other handheld devices.....easier, faster to set up and transfer data with memory cards vs. entire cameras or other devices.

2) i must buy a $45 adapter for the garmin unit, for AC power and serial port connection to my PC.

as for waypoints in internal memory...... seems fine storing them there. just getting them into internal memory is my issue.
landlubber is offline  
Old 12-13-2002, 12:11 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location:
Posts: 191
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

That data cord must be new or it only exists for the 2010. 10 months ago when I spoke to Garmin, a data cord did not exist for the 2006 and they told me that I had to hardwire a serial cord into the Garmin wiring harness in order to connect the machine with a PC. It took a long time, but it eventually worked, though I doubt the serial cord is going to stand up to salt air.


Back to the original question, I read some Garmin literature that specifically said that the data card could not be used to transfer waypoints. Check the software updates. If they have not added this option in the unit software, I bet they have not added it.

Why would you want to use a data card? In my case I don't own a laptop and the GPS is permanently installed in the instrument panel. That means I have to drag my PC, monitor, and key board on to the boat in order to upload or download points (and I currently have over 1000 in the unit).
pogyoil is offline  
Old 12-13-2002, 12:25 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location:
Posts: 2,368
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

Any tricks to unlocking more then one area on the CD??
marlinmike is offline  
Old 12-14-2002, 06:27 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

marlinmike...you do it like this; you go to the Garmin webside and give them you're sixteen digit credit card number with expiration date...then you take your pick. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] Seriously...you do know you can download, to a second unit, the area YOU currently have at no cost, right? I don't think any 'wizard' out there has figured your question out yet! [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif[/img] [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 12-17-2002, 11:21 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hamilton, Bermuda
Posts: 9
Default garmin data cards & waypoint question

you misunderstand the data card... I was under the understanding that the data card (memory card) was used to hold cartography data, not user data. The User Data, waypoints and routes, is held in internal, non-removable, memory. Seems the only way to upload/download those data is to connect to USB or RS232.... that is my understanding.

Cheers
Panchdara is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread