Notices

Help now needed !!!!

Old 12-28-2003, 08:05 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

Ok as most know I'm headed down the Raymarine path that being said here is the question .... a Sales/tech guy told me that I must mount the GPS antenna higher than Radome beam path otherwise the Radome (beam) when active will overlay the GPS antenna and my signal for the gps will not be there ????? make sense ???? should the GPS be on a 1' extension (putting it higher than Radome) when raydome is mounted straight to the top?....Thanks .....John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 08:10 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

PLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 745
Default Help now needed !!!!

John

The GPS antenna should be mounted higher than the radome. You can buy a 1 or 2 foot extension to get the antenna higher than the radome. I put mine on a 2' extension with a swivel base so it can be laid down during travel.

Paul

2003 Hydra-Sport 2400CC Vector
Reel Obsession is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 08:44 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

Thanks Reel ....Just making sure before I get started !!!!! John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 11:31 AM
  #4  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 26
Default Help now needed !!!!

I have Furuno radar and Garmin GPS. My GPS antenae is mounted below the radar's path. I have never had a problem with GPS functions. There must be a million set up like mine and I've never heard anyone say GPS needs to be above the Radar path.

Joe
22' Marlin
kokanee is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 11:36 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surfside Beach, TX, USA
Posts: 2,446
Default Help now needed !!!!

It does not make sense (to me) that the raydome shooting out would overpower the GPS earth satelites signal coming in, unless of course, the GPS antenna was directly in the path or beam of the raydome.
Should be easy enough to check... See if you're getting position information before elevating the GPS antenna, or investigate how others do it down at the marina on their boats.
savage is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 01:09 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

I know I have seen them above and below ... we are only thinking radio waves correct?.... I'll try and see which work's better before I bolt anything down ....John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 01:28 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Help now needed !!!!

Well, yes, sort of.

You don't actually have to have it mounted above the radar, below is not only just as good but its probably better to tell the truth.

I have been told (by Garmin) that the problem isn't the radar's power doing anything to the circutry of the GPS, its that it will casue the premature failure of the plastic. Guess micorwaves (radar) must have some effect on some types of plastic. It seems to me that raising the GPS antenna above the radar really doesn't gain you much - the power of the radar is still focused on the coax cable (or simply data cable in the case of many apparent antenna units that are actually the GPS itself) and that can't be doing anything any good.

So, with that thought in mind I have mine mounted on an extension that brings it up enven with the top but below the radar's beam by a good bit. Both work just fine and there is no chance of doing harm to my GPS.

Thom







A Wise Man Once Said: "That's EXACTLY why I try NOT to read manuals, I start trying all sorts of stupid things and wasting all sorts of time when I read manuals...."
Thom is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:12 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Help now needed !!!!

Well, not really Thom. There may or may not be some truth to the radar doing damage to the plastic, but I'd HIGHLY doubt it. If Radar could damage plastic which will outlast me and you by about 10,000 years, what would it be doing to our skin and body?

The truth is, if the GPS reciever is inline with the radom, you WILL lose the GPS signal. Why I'm not exactly sure, but can tell you first hand, you will lose it as I did while playing with my install.

HOWEVER, JT, you can put the GPS reciever ABOVE OR BELOW the radom path. It does not have to be above as you stated, it can be below it. So the moral of the story is, either raise it, or lower it.



Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:19 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

Thanks Guys ..... I'm thinking an extension for the GPS and it mounted on keel to the rear of the dome Look's better and would be more cost effective.... John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:22 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default Help now needed !!!!

Mine are both Raymarine (RL70C/2Kw radome with RAY120WAAS) and both mounted on the hard top with no extensions. The GPS is about 3 feet diagonally back from the radome and thus well within the beam of the radar. I've NEVER lost the GPS signal. Additionally, on my dad's sailboat, the same gps and radome are mounted on the same antenna mast and sit about 6" apart with the GPS being about 1" above the bottom of the radome. He's also NEVER lost his signal. Not sure why Raymarine recommends this (I'll admit I've never noticed this in the literature, but I may have just glossed over it), but in my experience, it has NEVER caused any problems.

BTW, mounting the GPS on a small extension will make for a permanent radar return from that extension.

As for what it does to our skin/body...stay out of the beam when it's operating. The 10Kw unit on the helos I fly WILL cook you from inside out if you get within 15' of the beam path while it is transmitting.

Harry

Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:28 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

Harry I fully understand the sig return but if it's coming from my rear I'm not worried .... I'm not so concerned about Heat seeking object's as say our service personal in both fast and slow movers!!!!!! ....Thanks ..John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:29 PM
  #12  
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Help now needed !!!!

hi John aka jtburf

I was told by Raymarine to mount the gps antenna higher than the raydome . . . reason is some people "hide" their antenna under the raydome and they occassionally lost their position or had reduced acccuracy . . . guess they have different answers . . . I will contimnue following this post for the definitive answer



. . . just thinking out loud . . . yes, I'm "Miss-Be-Haven"

auguste is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 04:48 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

I can see above or below and unless I'm willing to add a scanstrut (250.00) I can add a 1" dia X 12" extension for 30.00 and save the 220.00 for extra
trolling Bait !!!!!!!!....John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 04:59 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rogers, Texas USA
Posts: 126
Default Help now needed !!!!

Mine is mounted below and I haven't had a problem.


2004 Sea Pro 220cc with 225 Honda
Double Duce is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 05:36 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Help now needed !!!!

Mine is mounted below...no problem.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 06:51 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

PLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 745
Default Help now needed !!!!

John

Contrary to what was stated above, you will not have a "permanent radar return" if you mount above. The extension is too small for the radome to pick up. I have a VHF antenna, a FM radio antenna, a Loran antenna, a light mast, and 2 outriggers that are all in the radomes path and none of them show up on the radar. When I set up my electronics, I spoke to both Garmin and JRC tech support and both said it was best to mount the GPS antenna above the radome.

Paul

2003 Hydra-Sport 2400CC Vector
Reel Obsession is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 06:58 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

Thanks everybody ...

Mumbler yours is below but your dome is on a strut so you get the height from that ...


Reel I had also heard the dia would be way to small for an echo return ....

....Like always ....Thanks John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 08:04 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 464
Default Help now needed !!!!

I too have my radome on a scan strut and the GPS is mounted below it, and have never lost my GPS signal. BTW, scan struts can be good, as you can never mount your radome too high and in the future you may decide to mount stuff on your top that may give you a return signal.

Which ever way you decide to go, above or below will work. Whatever you do, I would highly recommend that you mount your radome with a 4 degree forward angle so that close in objects (like bouys) appear on your screen when running on a plane.

2003 Parker 23SE CC - Yamaha F225
Wayne Tj is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 01:45 PM
  #19  
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Help now needed !!!!

jtburf . . . you just proved my point

Nice guys (like you and a couple or three dozen or so more like you) who go out of their way to provide help receive far more positive responses than do other members . . . keep up the good work . . . I am learning a lot from you guys



. . . just thinking out loud . . . yes, I'm "Miss-Be-Haven"

auguste is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 02:18 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,668
Default Help now needed !!!!

Auguste ....Thanks... Kind words from a Kind Man .....Thanks ....John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread